The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing on CentOS 5.2

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hippo1, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. hippo1

    hippo1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello.

    I did it... and now I kind a regret it.

    Seems like the short guide to cPanel installation lead the box status to 'f**ked up'. http://blog.eukhost.com/webhosting/installing-cpanel/

    Ok it did all the compiling and other things, downloaded some stuff, showed some errors of course (It cant go through just like that, can it? Of course not!)
    First it jams to an error you dont have some gcc or something. ok so i did yum install on gcc.i386. Ran the install again and got through this. It did error about the hostname of course cause its not valid. ignored this cause the httpd does the same and still works. After about 40 minutes it stops to an 'Complete!' message. I cant get to the prompt or shell. Why? Do i have to restart the server? Well i did. Ok it started. Netwrok is ok but cant get to the httpd, cant find it. where is it? F*** i know i shouldn't have try this shit. Feels like this f***ing cpanel fucked the system for good. cant find anything. and the great great manual for the cPanel/WHM starts nicely from the connecting the site from the web.. well f*** me. I cant get the f***ng web connection to my server http://mydomain or ip/whm - If someone can tell me any hints how to proceed on this before I go and ****** *** * ***** * ** *** !"#!"#"¤"....

    -hippo-
     
    #1 hippo1, Dec 29, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2008
  2. hippo1

    hippo1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  3. sirotex

    sirotex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Speaking like that do you REALLY think anyone is going to give you a second thought? No they're not. Go away and contact your Dedicated Server provider.
     
  4. hippo1

    hippo1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well excuse my rude language. Heard that this installation goes ok only if you do the "select all" installation on linux.... donno. kind a newb here.....
     
  5. sirotex

    sirotex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No problem. Im surprised your provider didn't actually install cPanel for you. We usually ask the clients wether they would like us or them to install cPanel. There is no guarantee the installation will work without a problem. We have had more stable installations of cPanel on FreeBSD than CentOS lol. Firstly, try to connect from ip:2086 If that don't let you connect to WHM using the port then there is something wrong with cpsrvd or your firewall is blocking the ports. You really should ask your provider to login to your Server and check it out. Note if ip/whm isn't up then that means your HTTPD isnt up. Simple type. cd /usr/local/apache/bin ; ./apachectl start.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually, you are supposed to do a minimum installation. At the very most, you should have installed the development packages.

    Installing everything at the CentOS 5.2 installation screen will likely result in a non-functioning installation of cPanel/WHM. This is because cPanel/WHM installs all the server software you need, and if that software is already installed, that can cause substantial issues.

    Feel welcome to refer to our pre-installation/installation guide available at: http://www.cPanel.net/install.html for further information.
     
  7. hippo1

    hippo1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok. I did the minimum installation.
    And the sh latest went ok i think.
    however the following occured...

    [/home]# service httpd start
    Starting httpd: /bin/bash: /usr/sbin/httpd: No such file or directory [FAILED]

    [/home]# /usr/sbin/apachectl start
    /usr/sbin/apachectl: line 113: /usr/sbin/httpd: No such file or directory

    ??
     
  8. ericgregory

    ericgregory Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Did you install Apache prior to installing cPanel? If so, you should not have done so. cPanel requires an absolute minimal installation of your OS. Everything required by cPanel is setup and installed during the cPanel installation. If you're still having problems please open a ticket with our technical team and we'll have a look at it for you.
     
  9. hippo1

    hippo1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok.
    I got it working, the installation.

    When typing mydomain address it opens the cpanel introduction page.

    But.. When I try to open the http://mydomain.com:2086 or 2087/whm or the ip.ip.ip.ip/whm, it ends up with page error.

    could it be the port 2086 problem. should i open it somehow, but cpanel is used from the web :)80) ?? :confused:

    I have an ipcop firewall machine which handles all the traffic. there is set that port 80 is forwarded to my server port 80.

    ??
     
  10. Voltar

    Voltar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bakersfield, California
    cPanel can be accessed over http (port 80) via proxy, but you should still have all the required ports opened. A list can be found here http://faq.cpanel.net/show.cgi?qa=104689180407630
     
  11. apscinsspl

    apscinsspl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What is the error you are getting, did you found anything in logs ?
     
  12. hippo1

    hippo1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    forget it all.
    must be stupid to realize this thing really costs something to use....
    sorry as bothered you.
    maybe some day again or maybe not.
     
Loading...

Share This Page