Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Installing Ruby on Rails questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shayanf, May 7, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Shayanf

Shayanf Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello,

I am a Ruby on Rails developer and this will be my first time using cPanel.

We bought a domain name and was given access to a cPanel for our site, which I believe the version is 68 as indicated by the picture below:
    i65.tinypic.com/2jdotvc.png

I wanted to install Ruby on Rails onto cPanel so I followed this documentation, however I do not see any Application Manager button. All I see is an Installatron Application Installer, which does not contain Ruby on Rails.
    i68.tinypic.com/ndl3m.png

I've also emailed the support of the domain provider to enable the Ruby on Rails feature
    i65.tinypic.com/jb7qeq.png

but they replied and stated that they could not because its not inside of installatron, and told me that I can instead upload the files...

My questions are:
    1) Is there another way to install Ruby on Rails without uploading files.
    - If there is, could you provide some instructions?
    - Just for some info, my Ruby on Rails application uses Rails 5.0.6 and Ruby 2.3.3
    2) If I have to upload files, could I do it through SSH and Git?
    - I have SSH access and I prefer to use Git.
    - However I don't know which folders/directory I should be uploading the Ruby on Rails files onto

Any help would be much appreciated.
    If more info is required please let me know.

Thank you

#1 Shayanf, May 7, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2018
  2. cPanelKenneth

cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,