The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

installing ssl crts [moved]

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by darkfate, Apr 2, 2005.

  1. darkfate

    darkfate Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    installing ssl crts

    How do install them. I made a key crt file and a crs file. How do I put them in a webpage? is there an automated way or manual?
     
  2. Trigger

    Trigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    You made them?
    Are you trying for a self signed certificate or a commercial one?
    In either case you install using WHM

    1. Click on the "Install an SSL Certificate and Setup the Domain link" in the SSL/TLS menu.

    2. Enter the domain that the certificate is issued for, the user name for the users account, and Dedicated IP address assigned for the certificate in the Domain, User, and IP Address fields.

    3. Click on the "Fetch" button to paste the .key and the existing .crt files for the domain into the available display spaces, if they are currently on your server. Otherwise, copy and paste the .key and .crt files into the available display areas.

    The .crt file is the info that starts with -----BEGIN CERTIFICATE-----
    The .key file is the second file that was emailed to you from the server and is knows as the RSA file it starts with -----BEGIN RSA PRIVATE KEY-----
    Note: If you generated the certificate using WebHost Manager, the RSA key files will be available on the server.

    4. Replace the existing .crt file if it was successfully retrieved on the server with certificate info

    5.Click on the "Do it" button to install the new certificate.
     
  3. darkfate

    darkfate Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i dont have a ssl menu. I have an ssl manager these are the things in my cpanel:


    Mail

    Webmail

    Change Password

    Parked Domains

    Addon Domains


    FTP Manager

    File Manager

    Disk usage

    Backup

    Password Protect Directories


    Error pages

    Subdomains

    MySQL Databases

    Redirects

    Frontpage Extensions


    Web/FTP Stats

    Raw Access Logs

    Raw Log Manager

    Error log

    Subdomain Stats


    Chatroom

    PhpMyChat

    Bulletin Board

    CGI Center

    Scripts Library


    Agora Shopping Cart

    Cron jobs

    Network Tools

    MIME Types

    Apache Handlers


    Manage OpenPGP Keys

    HotLink Protection

    Index Manager

    IP Deny Manager

    SSL Manager


    Submit a Support Request

    Image Manager

    Boxtrapper

    Leech Protect

    Virus Scan


    Stats Configuration


    Fantastico
    :confused:
     
  4. junior

    junior Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    need help with SSL manager

    not sure if i am facing the same problem with darkfate.

    my virtual host uses cPanel 10.1.0-CURRENT 4, no WHM. Using the SSL Manager, I have created one SSL key, one CSR and one CRT.

    I have noticed a directory SSL has been created. I have also uploaded a file (index.htm) in that directory. What should I do to view this file?

    I have tried http://ssl.mysite.com/index.htm and https://www.mysite.com/index.htm. Neither works. What should I do?
     
  5. darkfate

    darkfate Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    im using an even older version its 10.0.0-RELEASE 149 but its cpanel pro 1.0 (RC2)
     
  6. Trigger

    Trigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Darkfate
    SSL Certifcates require your domain to be on a dedicated IP address, this can only be done by your host in WHM (the Admin interface for cPanel) not via the cPanel part itself.
    A dedicated IP will generally be an extra charge.

    SSL manger is one of the options in cPanel that if the feature is turned on by your host will allow you to install a certificate, at this point I have not heard of anyone being successfull with it yet. I will investigate more to see what options it provides.

    The standard method for generating a CSR and installing the certificate is to use WHM which is a feature reserved for Hosts only, so normally they will do all this for you ie. assign an IP generate a CSR etc they may even order and install a certificate for you.

    If you do not have access to WHM you should contact your host to arrange a certifcate to be installed.
     
  7. Trigger

    Trigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Junior
    Same info as for Darkfate.

    As for the SSL directory thats where the .key and .crt files will live after your certificate is installed. To view your files after a certificate is installed you use https://www.domain.com rather than http://www.domain.com.

    All files live in public_html so you do not have to load them into another folder
     
  8. junior

    junior Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks. http://www.domain.com still works as normal, but https://www.domain.com returns a Cannot Find Server page on IE. What does that mean? The certificate does not work?

    Anyway to install a certificate without having root access, which obviously I do not have?
     
  9. Trigger

    Trigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The error when you try to access the https:// means that you do not have a certificate installed.

    You do not need Root access to the server you need access to WHM (WebHost Manager) thats the bit that allows you to create user accounts (cPanel logins). cPanel is the client interface, WHM is the Hosts interface which gives access to all the really good stuff.

    There is a WHM Root account (owned by the server owner) which has control over all other accounts on the server and can create Sub WHM accounts (for the resellers or those users who have multiple accounts).

    If you only have access to cPanel then you will have to talk to the people you get your hosting from to setup the certificate for you.
     
  10. junior

    junior Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks Ron. that is possible, but will inccur additional cost on my site. it is stated SSL cert. set up by the company are not free.

    is there any other way to install a SSL cert for a linux, apache virtual server running cpanel?
     
  11. Trigger

    Trigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    No sorry.

    The host has to use a dedicated IP so the server known which SSL certificate is for Which domain name, these are limited and so cost money normally $1 - $2 a month from most hosts. Then there is the cost of the certificate itself.

    Some hosts run shared SSL certificates on one of their domains and offer it free it would look like https://hostsdomain.com/~accountusername/ if your host offers this service it may suit you.
     
  12. junior

    junior Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i'm not sure if i'm right, but this is my understanding of it:

    the mod-ssl manager under cpanel allows us to set up key, csr, and crt, which i did.

    but in order to get them to work, we need to reconfigure the apache server. and there are 2 ways to do it.

    1. using WHM, which i believe is a graphical interface.
    2. having root access to the server.

    with a virtual server, i do not have access to either. so, I have to get the host to do it, and it will (normally) charge for this service.
     
  13. Trigger

    Trigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The SSL manager allows you to view and generate componants for the Certificate, it also allows you to copy the information out of your account. Great if you are moving hosts as you can copy out the .key and .crt which will enable you to take your Certificate with you.

    You are correct the Hosting company has to set things up, you need to be on a dedicated IP address and have the certificate componants installed in the correct places. This can only be done with WHM or Root access to the server if you want to do it manually.
     
  14. naox

    naox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I remind you that ssl protocol requires dedicated port on IP. That means if you want to use default port you need DEDICATED IP. Wihtout it in users cpanel option to INSTALL CERTYFICATE will be not present. Users without DEDICATED IP can generate SSL certificates, however not install it! If you want ssl then ask/buy from admin DEDICATED IP, or go beg him for dedicated port - other than default to run your ssl site.
     
  15. wineo

    wineo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    i need to create a cert for sub.domain.com. So do I generate the private key for sub.domain.com or domain.com?
     
  16. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It has to be for the FQDN (Fully Qualified Domain Name) of where the certificate is going to be used, i.e. the subdomain name. You'll also probably need to setup the subdomain as a separate cPanel account on a unique IP address.
     
  17. wineo

    wineo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    The domain has its own ip, but the subdomain doesn't (I guess it has the same as the domain tho). How do I create a cPanel account for the subdomain? Do I have to get the hosting company to do that for me in whm?
     
Loading...

Share This Page