Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing the demo [moved]

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chazman, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Installing the Demo

    Im trying out the cPanel trial, and i am wondering how to install it. i read the documentation and im really confused and im running Fedora
     
    #1 chazman, Oct 24, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2005
  2. ecwebtechie

    ecwebtechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
  3. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    im sorry but I dont know what you mean by sh cpanel-universal-install.sea
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Do you know Linux? cPanel is installed on Linux or freeBSD. You need to have an understanding of it to be able to install and work cPanel.
     
  5. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    like I said, im running Fedora Redhat which if i am correct is a version of linux. Its just the SH thingy im not sure of. Could you please give me directions on that?
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  7. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    if you noticed in my first post, i said i read that and it had me confused
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    sh - is the basic of linux commands. It runs and processes jobs. It is executed through SSH, use 'man sh' for details.
     
  9. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    ok so will anything show up on my screen showing that it is installing or not? Also, should it prompt me to download the file to my cpu running linux?
     
  10. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well as soon as you run sh cpanel-universal-install.sea
    you will see tons of lines going upward.. but in any case I would suggest you to seek help from some as even if you finish install you will not be able to configure...
     
  11. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    ok but do I need to install the Fedora Core 4 as a server or as a personal pc? and then where do I go to run the command?
     
  12. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ok, I figured out why it didnt seem to work. I re-installed Fedora Core 4 as a server install and not a personal pc install, and now its installing cPanel. Thanx for all help supplied. Could I get this topic closed?
     
  13. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Things like this scare me... :eek:
     
  14. mgsnnetworks

    mgsnnetworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Rhyl, North Wales, UK
    any probs installing it, IM or email me and I'll install it for you
     
  15. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    how would you be able to install it on my machine?
     
  16. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    ok so i tried installing it last night, but it took longer than the range told, which was 10-70 minutes. im trying again and then when the trial is over, i have had some problems installing Web-CP. Any help on that?
     
  17. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    It is not a good idea to install two Control panels on one machine,, as they often break things.
     
  18. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    well I got cPanel installed on a fresh server, now for configuration,,, how do i go about that
     
  19. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Not to be rude, but have you read any of the manual? I'd highly suggest doing so... it does a pretty good job of explaining setup, operation, etc.

    Read the Manual Here
     
  20. chazman

    chazman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ive not idea on how to access the config panel after install tho and yes i have read the manual:)
     
Loading...

Share This Page