The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing/Using Trickle on VPS with cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gardolom, Mar 28, 2014.

  1. gardolom

    gardolom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    My current VPS provider has a public uplink limit of 100 Mbps, and everytime I run the cPanel backup and have it upload the backup files to a remote server, I always got nullrouted beucase it goes beyond the 100Mbps limit. i tried shifting to proftpd and insert the TransferRate line on proftpd.conf but it doesnt work.

    I heard about Trickle (/http://www.tuxradar.com/content/control-your-bandwidth-trickle) but couldn't get it done right.

    Does anybody has experienced using this on cPanel? Perhaps I can hire anybody who have done this right.
     
  2. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I wouldn't try to deal with Trickle for something like this. In your backup config, simply create a new destination and perhaps write a quick script that invokes rsync with --bwlimit.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you set this up on the remote FTP server or on the cPanel server?

    Thank you.
     
  4. gardolom

    gardolom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,

    I set this up on the cPanel server.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. gardolom

    gardolom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It still doesn't work. In both the cPanel and the remote backup server, i added the ff lines in both proftpd.conf:

    TransferRate RETR,STOR,APPE,STOU 80000

    the cPanel server still got nullrouted. Im not sure if the value I placed is 80000 which I understand amounts to 80 megabytes per second is correct for the providers limit of 100 Mbps.
     
  7. gardolom

    gardolom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    By the way the issue here is on the cPanel server. My remote backup server (which happens to be from a different provider) doesn't have such limit.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You may want to consult with your provider to see your options for software that will limit overall transfer speeds instead of allowing you to exceed the limit. Or, you could try implementing a custom solution like the one Vanessa suggested earlier in this thread.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page