The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing Wordpress...add-on domain or what??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wally247, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. wally247

    wally247 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello,

    I feel like a moron. I just switched to SEO hosting so I could have different IP's for my slew of sites. I'm all set up on the new hosting now except for the unique IP's.

    My support guy just told me that they can't assign unique IP's to an add-on domain. I have always installed Wordpress on my sites by selecting "Add-on Domains" in Cpanel. It's the only way I've seen it done. I honestly didn't know there was another way, other than a subdomain.


    So I guess I've been doing it wrong for 2 years, but how the hell do I do it right. If I have a brand new domain I just bought, how do I install Wordpress without selecting Add-on domain?


    My previous CPanel used Fantastico for Wordpress, and my current one uses Installatron, but the idea is the same.


    If I try to just install Wordpress, I at some point have to choose which domain to put it on....HOW do I get a domain on the list to choose from if I am not supposed to use addon??



    Thanks,
     
  2. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You'll need to ask your new host. Out of the box, I don't think cPanel supports sites on addon domains having unique IP addresses / multiple IP addresses within one hosting account. Unless your provider has made / can make changes to for example the apache setup each site will need to be in it's own hosting account to have it's own IP.
     
  3. theG

    theG Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    >>I have always installed Wordpress on my sites by selecting "Add-on Domains" in Cpanel. It's the only way I've seen it done.

    There is no such restriction. You can install wordpress in any subdomain, addon or main domain itself.

    You can add IP address for addon domains : /http://gopukrish.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/how-to-add-dedicated-ip-to-an-addon-domain/

    How did you install wordpress before ? Using softaculous or manually ?

    G
     
  4. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah that's interesting then, I'd not known that was a supported feature with it not being available in the GUI. Guess I'm too used to modifications made to files magically disappearing :rolleyes:

    Assigning Dedicated IPs to Subdomains

     
Loading...

Share This Page