The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing WordPress in a sub-domain when it is also installed in the root

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CharleyW, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. CharleyW

    CharleyW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    I am attempting to install WordPress in a sub-domain where it is already installed in the primary domain.

    The install is terminating with an error "There is already public_html install of this addon."

    Can anyone help?

    TIA
     
  2. mickbeng

    mickbeng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    How did you install the WordPress? Are you doing this through fantastico?

    Please provide more information.
     
  3. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think it's via cPaddon / Site Software?
     
  4. logicsupport

    logicsupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If its through Fantastico the two main options are "Install on domain" and "Install in directory" .

    You should select the addon domain under "Install on domain"

    Eg : Suppose my main domain is example.com and my addon is helloworld.com

    I select Install on domain as helloworld.com and leave Install in directory blank so that it automatically takes its document root as /home/example/public_html/helloworld.com/

    If that doesn't help I would recommend a manual installation in the directory /home/example/public_html/helloworld.com/ . It takes only few minutes to complete .
     
  5. CharleyW

    CharleyW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    The install was attempted by selecting "Scripts Library" from CPanel, then from "cPAddon Scripts v0.8.7", clicking "WordPress".

    What's fantastico?
     
  6. mickbeng

    mickbeng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    fantastico is an useful addon to cPanel which need $$. :cool:

    Why not try to install WordPress manually as guide below? It is pretty easy and could done within a minute.:D
    Installing WordPress « WordPress Codex

    Step;
    1. Use SSH, download http://wordpress.org/latest.tar.gz to the subdomain folder.
    2. Extract it, run "tar zxf latest.tar.gz"
    3. Login to cPanel, create MySQL database, username and password.
    4. Browse to subdomain, key in the information and proceed.
    5. Well done.
     
  7. CharleyW

    CharleyW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    I'm already paying for CPanel - it should either do it, or not grant me the right to attempt to do it.

    I consider this a problem with the CPanel product.
     
  8. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I dont encounter this problem with my cpAddons.

    I dont have "Scripts Library" but I do have "Site Software" from my cPanel.

    If you are the server owner, are you sure that you have installed cpaddons using cPanel -> Install cPaddons? What version of Wordpress are you seeing?
     
  9. CharleyW

    CharleyW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    WordPress version is 2.8.4

    I am the server owner.
     
    #9 CharleyW, Nov 24, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  10. mickbeng

    mickbeng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    ha ha... the latest version of WordPress should be 2.8.6.
     
  11. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    CharleyW, what is your full cPanel version number? This is as seen by the following command via root SSH access:
    Code:
    # cat /usr/local/cpanel/version && echo

    Mickbeng, please remain polite when posting. For general reference, WordPress version 2.8.6 is included in the latest cPAddons.
     
  12. CharleyW

    CharleyW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    Thank you.

    11.24.4-STABLE_36281
     
  13. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Thank you for the report and version information; the described issue has been assigned the following internal case ID: #35814

    As a friendly reminder, please note there is a more recent STABLE build available; I would consider enabling automatic updates via the Update Config page in WHM and then updating to the latest version, that at the time of writing is the following:
    11.24.5-STABLE_38506

    To compare changes between the installed build and the latest I recommend reviewing our official change log. Here is a specific link to the change log for the STABLE build tree:
    http://changelog.cpanel.net/?treeview=stable
     
  14. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Also happening on WordPress 2.8.6.


    I updated all cPaddons to their latest versions. Installing WordPress on the main domain works just fine, but not if on an addon domain.

    To test this theory, I created an addon domain first and the directory under it is 100% empty. I then added WordPress 2.8.6 to it and received no error messages, just a blank screen. The directory now contains all the WordPress files just fine. But the install is never registered within cPanel itself.

    I can not find a cPanel::Blog::WordPress.1.yaml file in the /home/username/.cpaddons directory...

    So, it seems to have been partially installed.
     
  15. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    The described symptoms appear to be for a different issue. Please submit a support request so the precise symptoms and specific circumstances may be thoroughly investigated. If needed, the link in my forums signature may be used to initiate a ticket submission; when available, please PM me referencing your post and the new ticket ID number so I may follow-up internally.
     
  16. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Nope, same symptoms...

    No, the problem here was something different, I deleted the account and re-created it and now installing WordPress on Addon Domains work fine (in the WordPress directory). Not in the root of the Addon domain.

    I received the same error as stated above:

    "There is already public_html install of this addon."


    This issue has caused us a customer. The customer insisted that this is a bug (which he is right) and wanted a refund of his hosting fees.

    This needs to be corrected.

    Running the latest stable version:

    11.24.5-STABLE_38506

    with WordPress 2.8.6

    Thanks,
    Peter
     
  17. OcalaDesigns

    OcalaDesigns Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Nope, same symptoms...

    I'm having this same problem on my CentOS VPS server, hosted through DotBlock.com. I can install a single copy of WordPress into the root of a site or in a sub-domain, once there is an install, I can't install another copy into a subdomain. After using CPanel Addons to install WordPress, I get the error "There is already public_html install of this addon.". Is there a setting in WHM that would correct this and allow multiple installs? I'm installing WordPress 3.1.2, which shouldn't matter.

    I even tried creating a new hosting account in WHM, installed WordPress into a subdomain first, then tried to install it again into the root domain public_html folder and I get the same error. I do have a cPanel::Blogs::WordPress.0.yaml file in the folder /home/myfolder/.cpaddons, but I don't know what it's for ... Obviously something to do with the cpanel addons ....
     
  18. Ballarino

    Ballarino Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Installing WordPress in a sub-domain when it is also installed in the r

    Same problem I'm having.. Trying to use the WP addon script to install directly into the "addon" domain and get error "There is already public_html install of this addon" which shouldn't matter since the NEW addon domain is pointed to a new subfolder in public_html and in www. - does anyone have a fix for this?

    BTW, cpanel folks, I'm trialing your software and if I can't find a fix for this, I'm going elsewhere... thank you.
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Installing WordPress in a sub-domain when it is also installed in the r

    Hello :)

    The behavior you are reporting is by design. Multiple docroot installations would result in various configuration conflicts. You are only permitted to have one docroot install per account, however you can have an additional installation in a subdirectory. Here are the steps you can take to configure this:

    1) Install WordPress to a subdirectory of an existing domain name.

    2) Create a subdomain (or Addon domain) that uses that subdirectory as it's DocumentRoot.

    There has been discussion of revamping the cPAddon system to allow for multiple docroot installs, however there are currently no plans to do so in the immediate future.

    Thank you.
     
  20. ruzbehraja

    ruzbehraja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Installing WordPress in a sub-domain when it is also installed in the r

    Rename the folder which contains the addon domain (you can remove the ".")

    Eg: rename the folder from "domain.com" to "domain" or "domaincom"
     
Loading...

Share This Page