The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

InstantSSL - Page cannot be displayed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by clinch, Apr 2, 2005.

  1. clinch

    clinch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello.
    I've installed a certificate (InstantSSL) using cpanel and I thought things were working fine. I've tested the cert in a few browsers and it seemed to be working properly.

    However, one of my clients said he was getting "Page cannot be displayed" when trying to go the https page on my site. I then checked on another computer at my house, and I'm finding that IE is showing this message.

    I'm wondering what the problem is or if anyone has seen this before. Some browsers work fine, and some (not all) installations of IE are showing "Page cannot be displayed".
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    It is very likely that the SSL cert was not installed properly. You shouldn't be getting that error message. If WHM is not dong it properly, you need to install your SSL manually.
     
  3. Trigger

    Trigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Did you install from cPanel or WHM, the feature to install from cPanel does not always work even when you turn it on correctly. Installing from WHM (Root WHM even better) is more likely to work correctly.
     
  4. clinch

    clinch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you.
    I had installed from WHM as root, but I think I messed up the keys while cutting and pasting. However, I started from scratch and created a new CSR and had my certificate reissued. After reinstalling the certificate through WHM, everything seems to be working fine!

    So a bad installation of my root and intermediate certs caused the problem and it was fixed by going through the entire process again more thoroughly.
     
  5. Trigger

    Trigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane
    When installing you must copy and paste the entire key and certificate including the starter and footer lines ie the -----BEGIN CERTIFICATE----- all the way to the -----END CERTIFICATE-----

    If you do stuff it up you can reinstall the information again and it will overwrite the existing one just be sure to paste in the full .crt file in the top box and the full RSA .key in the second box (its the second email you get when you generate the CSR in whm)

    Glad it working :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page