The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Interchange and SQL::Statement

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by joana, Jan 29, 2003.

  1. joana

    joana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It seems IC does not work with SQL::Statement V1.005
    Any one found a fix for this?
     
  2. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    Looks like I'm having this same issue.
    Did you get a fix for it yet?

    TIA
     
  3. joana

    joana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I downgraded the SQL::Statement to the version supported by IC.
     
  4. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    Would you mind sharing with me how you did that which version you used? :)

    I installed the 1.0 version and I'm still getting the error after restarting Interchange and Apache:


    SQL query failed: Can't locate object
    method "where" via package "SQL::Statement" (perhaps you forgot to load "SQL::S
    tatement"?) at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/lib/Vend/Scan.pm line 665.



    TIA
     
  5. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    Nevermind on this one :) I checked into one of our other servers and found it had not updated to 1.005 and was running SQL-Statement-0.1021

    That got it going again.
     
  6. Jeff @ PLC

    Jeff @ PLC Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Excuse my ignorance... but I am trying to help my HOST get Interchange up and running again after the latest Cpanel update killed it. If you could give me a simple (quick as you like) walk through on how to downgrade to the old version I'd be most appreciative.

    Thanks,

    Jeff @ PLC
     
  7. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    This is what I did and it worked -

    cd /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.6.1
    mv SQL ..
    (moves the new version of SQL statement out of the directory)
    cd
    (This takes you to the root directory)
    cd .cpan/build
    cd SQL-Statement-0.1021
    ( the 0.1021 version may or may not be there)
    Install the 0.1021 version:
    perl Makefile.PL
    make
    make test
    make install

    I then restarted Interchange and Apache.
    Interchange started working correctly after that.
     
  8. Jeff @ PLC

    Jeff @ PLC Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nico-

    Thanks for the reply. I was up until 3:am last night asking the host to do the same thing - now all is well on at least one of their servers. My question would now be, does reverting back to the old SQL::STATEMENT hurt the host in any way? I can see the need to upgrade the host software and don't want to force them into running something that might leave them open to larger problems.

    Don't forget the other problems...

    Admin interface will not work properly.
    Please install needed Perl modules:
    Archive::Zip not found. Only needed for supplementary UserTag definitions.

    Term::ReadLine::Perl not found. Gives you filename completion and command history in the makecat program. Not used otherwise.

    Tie::Watch not found. Minor: cannot set watch points in catalog.cfg.

    Interchange provides the following solution: The easiest way to do this is to use the CPAN module and do:
    perl -MCPAN -e 'install Bundle::Interchange'

    You may also have to install the Cpanel provided Interchangefix - at least a few others hosts have had to in order to get Interchange back up and running.

    Thanks!

    Jeff @ PLC
     
  9. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    Yes, as I found out running /scripts/fixinterchange, /scripts/upcp and the nightly updates will put you back to square one again. I disabled the cron for the nightly updates for now. Cpanel support advised me of the following:


    "It appears to be fairly large (and common) problem (search google.com), the SQL::statment module no longer includes the 'where' function, and it is upgraded via the bundle::interchange package from cpan nightly. Our developers are currently working on a fix for this and should have one within a couple of days."

    Once they get it squared away I will enable the updates once again.
     
  10. joana

    joana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't believe that's entirely correct.. had this issue one 1 server while the others had the old SQL::Statement with no issue even though they update every night.. The problem was fixinterchange script or changing from 4.8 to 4.9 version. I had reverted it back to the old version and it did not overwrite till 2 days ago with Cpanel6
     
Loading...

Share This Page