The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Interchange does not work for some users

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mikerayner, Sep 12, 2002.

  1. mikerayner

    mikerayner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Strange Interchange Problem

    We have some users who their major works are on Interchange but recently we got a strange problem

    Interchange does not work for some of users but not all of them. It returns internal server error 500 either trying to access admin or customer interface
    Apache error_log shows:
    Premature end of script headers: /home/user/public_html/cgi-bin/cart.cgi

    I’ve tried
    /scripts/fixinterchange
    /scripts/fixinterchangeperm
    /scripts/rebuildinterchangecfg
    but still have no success.

    Then tried to remove catalogs and configurations
    I removed /home/user/catalogs directory and /home/user/public_html/cgi-bin/cart.cgi

    Also removed catalog lines from /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/interchange.cfg and removed the entire directory of /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/etc/

    Then used /usr/local/cpanel/startinterchange
    And created the catalogs from Cpanel

    Now there are two problems all of users have double aliases like bellow in interchange.cfg file (/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/interchange.cfg)

    [b:8d12102081]Catalog user /home/user/catalogs/user /~user/cgi-bin/cart.cgi /~user/cgi-bin/cart.cgi[/b:8d12102081]

    Also Interchange does not work for those users which did not worked before.

    Please help.

    [b:8d12102081]Also where does Interchange store users’ configuration? [/b:8d12102081] I’ve tried to remove /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/etc/ directory and interchange.cfg but still have no luck

    This problem has occurred after recent upgrades, May be a problem with new cpanel builds. We are now using Cpanel 5.0.0 build 37
     
  2. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is a side effect problem, I need access to your machine to fix it up send me your root password by email.
     
  3. mikerayner

    mikerayner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ITF,
    I sent my root password by email to you
     
  4. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I fixed it up for you, it's OK
     
  5. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    itf, what magic did you use to fix it up? :)
     
  6. mikerayner

    mikerayner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks & itf & it's working without any problem
    again thanks
     
  7. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:e43e3feedb][i:e43e3feedb]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:e43e3feedb]

    itf, what magic did you use to fix it up? :)[/quote:e43e3feedb]
    I think you want to know what caused the problem:
    1. uid and gid problems in /etc/shadow /etc/group
    2. They didn't removed everything related to Interchange
    3. error in interchange.cfg
    4. Incorrect group id assigned in /home/user

    For some reasons they had problem with mailman due to unavailability of mailman user in /etc/passwd someone had tried to solve the problem but he caused group id modifications and they ignored it until a serious problem

    /scripts/fixeverything couldn't solved the problem due to error in /etc/passwd and /etc/group files

    I fixed them all up.
     
  8. DuncanMcLord

    DuncanMcLord Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Mind if i ask for further details, since i am experiencing the same issue on every server!

    Thanks.
     
  9. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:77b7c7441b][i:77b7c7441b]Originally posted by DuncanMcLord[/i:77b7c7441b]

    Mind if i ask for further details, since i am experiencing the same issue on every server!

    Thanks.[/quote:77b7c7441b]

    Your Interchange does not work for some of users on a server or all of them on that server?
    Haven't you ever tried to remove those users' catalogs?
     
  10. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:4fa522f435][i:4fa522f435]Originally posted by DuncanMcLord[/i:4fa522f435]

    Mind if i ask for further details, since i am experiencing the same issue on every server!

    Thanks.[/quote:4fa522f435]
    in a root ssh session use:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/startinterchange

    then

    cat /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/error.log

    then post it for us.
     
  11. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    in a root ssh session use:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/startinterchange

    then

    cat /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/error.log

    then post it for us.
     
  12. serambin

    serambin Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    CGI/Perl header errors

    We're having the same problem with PerlDesk CGI Scripts. On one server it works fine but on another, 500 errors. The configuration should be the same on both machines. This problem occured after the upgrade to 5.xx cPanel. Any Ideas?

    Stan
     
  13. serambin

    serambin Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    CGI/Perl header errors

    We're having the same problem with PerlDesk CGI Scripts. On one server it works fine but on another, 500 errors. The configuration should be the same on both machines. This problem occured after the upgrade to 5.xx cPanel. Any Ideas?

    Stan
     
  14. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:da929e9379][i:da929e9379]Originally posted by serambin[/i:da929e9379]

    We're having the same problem with PerlDesk CGI Scripts. On one server it works fine but on another, 500 errors. The configuration should be the same on both machines. This problem occured after the upgrade to 5.xx cPanel. Any Ideas?

    Stan[/quote:da929e9379]
    Perl Desk is irrelevant to Interchange !!
     
Loading...

Share This Page