The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Interesting problem on server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WeMasterz5, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    Heya

    we got an issue here, running redhat 8.0 current 8.+ cpanel version, on every account, if you go to one of them and try to right click on any image and try to save image has, it aways tries to save as .bmp

    where on earth would a setting in cpanel and/or redhat be for this?

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: and I dun't know where to look
     
  2. Jemshi

    Jemshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    no problem here.. did you try another browser. ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    mm.....these are sites on our server, ok..I checked with opera and didnt see this.... is there some special setting in IE, I have never seen this issue with any other site on any other server but ours?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. mjm2

    mjm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    rm -rf /
    has nothing to do with the server.

    it has everything to do with IE being a shitty ass program. please use a _good_ webbrowser (ie. Firebird).

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Jemshi

    Jemshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    I use mozilla/konqueror/opera on linux.. no problem for any of these.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. mjm2

    mjm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    rm -rf /
    you wouldnt believe the amount of calls i get at work about this (i do sys. admin for medium sized business) and other IE bugs.

    i wish customer service would just listen to me and stop using IE.....

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Jemshi

    Jemshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Please check the following.

    if your cache is full, empty it, restart your computer.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    ok... understanding that IE sucks and all.... but is there anykind of setting in IE for this... I can go to any other site and not see this,, these forums for example, I can save gifs as gifs etc, etc..but go to a site on our server and it dont work that way :confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First of all, are you sure that the files are actually gifs and not bmps?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    eh...yeah... I uploaded them to the server ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    :) Cool. Just had to make sure. I have fallen victim to that once or twice, a few files came up as bmp and I swore they were gifs or jpgs but I was mistaken, so I had to ask. I find it hard to fathom how it would be gifs in one web browser, and bmp in another. Have you tried to save it as a gif anyways? Whats the url of a page where I can look at?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    one site is http://www.appraisalfl.com/ Iright click on any image and all I see to save as is bmp

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, well is it only this web site, only this page, or is it every one on the server? If its a problem with just you, or just this one guy, then that leaves to reason that its a problem with either his site, or his images.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    no...its every site on the box, and I have had other people tell me they see the same thing

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, I see the same thing too. Is there like imagemagik or dg installed on the server by chance?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    :eek I do belive there is, if I remember correctly, you know of any settings to check for this?

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. Peoplespaces

    Peoplespaces Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have Imagemagick on my server and it doesn't do this.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is definitely a "weirdy". ;)

    WeMasterz5, you have more than one Server right? I would compare your MIME settings in the httpd.conf file. It's the only place I can think of that would make a difference.

    Only IE (I used v6) seems to have this problem at the URL you posted. Using "properties" will show it is a GIF file, but trying to download it shows as a BMP.

    I have ImageMagick on a few Servers and IE had no problem with correctly saving an image, so I cannot see that as being a problem.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    Heya Rob, yep we got a couple, on one thats 99% identical as to this one (I think) hehe.... comparing each httpd.conf file I do see that on this bugged server there is all the mod_gzip stuff, and on the other server that I do not see this .bmp issue on there is no mod_gzip on there, I also see things like this

    # AddType allows you to tweak mime.types without actually editing it, or to
    # make certain files to be certain types.
    #
    AddType application/x-tar .tgz


    # AddType allows you to tweak mime.types without actually editing it, or to
    # make certain files to be certain types.
    #
    AddType application/x-tar .tgz
    AddType image/x-icon .ico



    the 2nd one is the server in question.... would this be a mod_gzip issue?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I do believe you solved the problem.

    Remove gzip and all should be well -- Apache should be restarted if not done automatically on the removal.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page