The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internal Server Error after activating suhosin

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fibre72, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. fibre72

    fibre72 Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Community,

    after ive activated suhosin and suexec i get internal server errors on scripts like dokuwiki and piwik.

    On another script i get wirte access errors.

    When i switch to cgi or fcgi without suexec everything is working. cgi and fcgi with activated suexec didnt work.

    Anyone a idea?

    Best regards!
     
    #1 fibre72, Aug 14, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. fibre72

    fibre72 Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    thank you for the link.

    But i think there is any conifguration problem. I think it isnt pure coincidence that 5 scripts dont work with suhosin.
    I think the problem is that the scripts are installed on cgi or something like that.

    Best regards
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please post the full error message that is output to /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when you attempt to access the website and receive the "internal server error" message.

    Thank you.
     
  5. nwtg

    nwtg Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just tested something in my QA environment that may assist in researching, cause this stinks of a permissions/ownership conflict.

    The last time I ran EA on the testing VM (although we were testing various options) certain existing software installed from Softaculous & Fantastico started throwing error 500s. Upon examining the contents of the effected public_html, I found this:

    /http://jetfi.re/1.jpg
    Also created the "/home/user/public_html/$foo" is writable by group in the error_log.

    Verified that /http://j0hn.net/dev-qa/test.php (with the incorrect ownership seen above) threw a 500, then verified the write access error was created.

    I adjusted the uid/gid as seen here: /http://jetfi.re/2.jpg

    I then called up /http://j0hn.net/dev-qa/test2.php which is an exact replica of test.php and it loaded.
    Can also try chmod 755 /home/user/public_html (drwxr-x---) if it's not already. May have to do some exploring until you find the folders/files with incorrect ownership.

    Hope this gets you on the right path.

    -JM
     
    #5 nwtg, Aug 14, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
  6. nwtg

    nwtg Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same results when test.php is owned by nobody/nobody

    -rw-r--r-- 1 nobody nobody 3310 Aug 14 12:20 test.php

    -rw-r--r-- 1 j0hn j0hn 3310 Aug 14 12:21 test2.php
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Why would someone want to chmod public_html to 755?

    Running EasyApache should not be touching files on a users account.

    If you suspect an issue with EasyApache you might want to bring in the troops to have a look at your box:
    http://go.cpanel.net/bugs
     
  8. nwtg

    nwtg Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Easy big fella. Everyone's situation is different. It occurred in our QA environment, so perhaps I will have it looked at if it occurs again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page