The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internal Server Error on all sites after PHP update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rqsweat, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. rqsweat

    rqsweat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Someone please help. WHen I updated to apache 2.2 and php (from php4) using easy apache, all of my sites break with a 500 error. This is for all files residing in the direcotry (html, php, images, etc)
     
  2. gvard

    gvard Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens/GREECE
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    First of all, check the following 2 things (if compiled with suPHP):

    1) Don't have files or directories with 777 permissions; the highest you can use is 755.

    2) Don't have files which are owned by nobody; try to run /scripts/chownpublichtmls to fix that problem.
     
  3. rqsweat

    rqsweat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    None of the 22 sites on my server have directories with 777 permissions. Also, none of the files for any of my sites are owned by nobody. Only the public_Html directory... ie /home/user/public_html user.nobody
     
  4. gvard

    gvard Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens/GREECE
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It's not just the directories, the files too shouldn't have 777 permissions. Did EasyApache completed successfully? Did you try to re-run EasyApache selecting the "basic" option, so that PHP gets reconfigured with the minimum options (in order to get most of the sites back online until you contact cPanel regarding this)?

    Also did you try to move .htaccess to .htaccess.old, in case an entry in .htaccess causes this problem?
     
  5. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Take a look at your apache error log, what errors does it report?
     
  6. cyberdog

    cyberdog Registered

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having the same problem as of today. I tried a rebuild again with easyapache and even forced a latest on php the 3rd time around. I did rename the .htacces file to old.htaccess thinking the same thing you did but no dice. This only happens for .php files and I must use SuExec for what are hopefully obvious reasons. I also made a simple index.php with one line of code, a simple string echo, still get a 500 error. I tried running /scripts/chownpublichtmls and waited a few minutes and this seemed to do the trick!
     
    #6 cyberdog, Nov 16, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2009
  7. InstaCarma_Tech

    InstaCarma_Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Check the apache logs while accessing the site..It would pretty much tell you the reason or you can paste the error here for the experts to have a look.
    Code:
     tail -f /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log 
     
  8. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As I told the person above always try to check the logs. You can waste a lot of time trying to rebuild or staring at it but most times if you check the logs it will be very obvious as to what is wrong.
     
Loading...

Share This Page