Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internal Server Error on subdomains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ronaldst, Apr 22, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ronaldst

    ronaldst Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    On one account I am getting Internal Server Error on 2 (of 5) subdomains. My Apache error log shows the following:
    Code:
    [Sun Apr 23 04:19:17.841427 2017] [core:error] [pid 29822] [client 12.12.123.123:57197] AH00124: Request exceeded the limit of 10 internal redirects due to probable configuration error. Use 'LimitInternalRecursion' to increase the limit if necessary. Use 'LogLevel debug' to get a backtrace., referer: url.com: Search lyrics
    
    Can anyone explain to me what is causing this and what the solution might be?
     
    #1 ronaldst, Apr 22, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 22, 2017
  2. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    is it a wordpress website ? , check the .htaccess file .
     
  3. ronaldst

    ronaldst Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No these sub domains does not contain Wordpress sites. One subdomain has a simple HTML only site, and the other subdomain is empty. I tried to make a new subdomain for testing and it gives the Internal Server Error straight away.

    You are onto something though, there is something odd with the .htaccess. The subdomains (giving the error) have none, but the main domain/site does. It runs a url shortening service.

    I've managed to sort it out by making a .htaccess file in my subdomain directory.
     
    #3 ronaldst, Apr 23, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2017
  4. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Check the .htaccess file outside the public_html directory also if it is present, what is the content in it.

    Also, for testing, please add in the below code in the .htaccess and see what it gives to you.
    RewriteCond %{ENV:REDIRECT_STATUS} 200
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,659
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    That's typically the best way to address the issue, as it ensures the subdomain uses the .htaccess file in it's own document root.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page