The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internal Server Error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by baldidiot, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. baldidiot

    baldidiot Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a VPS that uses WHM which has been working fine for months and all of a sudden the site on it returns a 500 Internal Server Error.

    I also cannot connect to the WHM control panel using IP/whm or IP:2086, which just returns an "oops, cannot connect to..." type message in the browser.

    Using SSH I checked the apache error logs and there didn't seem to be anything there, other than a couple of file not found errors for the 404 page.

    I restarted the VPS and everything worked fine for a couple of hours, but now the problem is the same.

    Any ideas as to why it's not working all of a sudden?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you restart the VPS, does WHM work as well? Could you check the cPanel error logs in case they might provide more details:

    Code:
    tail -fn0 /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    You'd hit that log when you try to load WHM in a browser. Any errors should then output to that file.
     
  3. baldidiot

    baldidiot Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Tristan,

    I restarted the VPS again yesterday and it has been working so far.

    After restarting I can access WHM again, although there was nothing in the error log you specified (it was blank). Could it have been a problem with the VPS rather than with the software?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It could be an issue with the VPS itself. You might check /var/log/messages to see if there's anything outputting there or "free -m" to see how memory usage looks.
     
  5. baldidiot

    baldidiot Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi tristan,

    Nothing in the messages other than a restart. I checked the memory and there was only 81 mb free - I'm guessing its a memory problem?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Try running the following command to see if there are any fail counts for your resource parameters:

    Code:
    # cat /proc/user_beancounters
    If you notice fail accounts for parameters like "privvmpages", you may need to increase the memory available to this VPS from the VPS hardware node.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page