The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Invalid hostname even though it is valid

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by mattin, Aug 15, 2016.

Tags:
  1. mattin

    mattin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bratislava, Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I want to ask if somebody have this problem and solved it. I have cPanel server which works great, but if server is sometimes restarted during maintenance, emails are not delivered due to 550 Invalid HELO string.

    When I checked Change hostname, there's only first name of server from fqdn (so for example only server from server.domain.com).

    I already ask about provider about this, and they tell me that server has valid fqdn already set, and they are true, when I put hostname -f I get full server.domain.com. Just hostname return only "server". Which is valid behaviour.

    Is it any switch or something to force cpanel to use fqdn name not only first server name?

    P.S.: When I changed name in cpanel, it set name of server to fqdn, so everything works, but it shouldn't work like this.

    Thanks.
     
  2. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After setting the fqdn in WHM Change hostname, check that an 'A' record exists for the servername in WHM>>>DNS functions
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please post the output from the following command:

    Code:
    grep '' /etc/redhat-release /usr/local/cpanel/version /var/cpanel/envtype ; grep CPANEL= /etc/cpupdate.conf
    Thank you.
     
  4. mattin

    mattin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bratislava, Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello Michael,

    here is output
    Code:
    /etc/redhat-release:CentOS Linux release 7.2.1511 (Core)
    /usr/local/cpanel/version:11.58.0.19
    /var/cpanel/envtype:virtuozzo
    CPANEL=release
    And here how it looks after restart:
    Code:
    root@server [/]# hostname
    server
    root@server [/]# hostname -f
    server.domain.com
    When I additionally change hostname via WHM admin then both output are server.domain.com
     
  5. mattin

    mattin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bratislava, Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    DNS records are always ok. It's just exim/smtp mail server, it will use only hostname and not hostname -fqdn when sending emails, which result in undeliverable messages.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you contact your provider again and have them verify the hostname is properly configured? The information you provided suggests the wrong hostname is stored somewhere on the VPS hardware node or as part of the configuration file for the VPS.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page