The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Invalid root password and without ssh access

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gnoccentral, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. gnoccentral

    gnoccentral Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First sorry for my bad English...


    Well my problem is this:

    I have a dedicated and I have disabled SSH Password Authorization Tweak, I do not have a key to access the ssh.

    I had to change the ROOT password on my WHM because of a problem I had on my keyboard.

    But after changing the password the new password is not working, i has asked the DC to change the password but all passwords are invalid, I tried to use the KVM but I still can not access.

    I'm being automatically redirected in the screen to change to a more secure password, but when I click change password get sent to a screen that says that the old password is wrong ...

    I already sent a ticket (cPanel support) but told me that without access to SSH can not help me.

    There how to solve this problem?


    Thanks :(
     
  2. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Sadly, your hosting provider, data center or NOC are the only people that can assist you with this.
     
  3. gnoccentral

    gnoccentral Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How can they help me how to proceed??

    Because so far they just say they can only change the password any more and that you (cPanel) that could help me.

    I'm in the dark on the edge of a great abyss, I feel like that =)
     
  4. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Sorry you feel that way. But the root password is actually set up on the server (at the OS level), and while cPanel/WHM can change it for you, all the cPanel/WHM software actually does is call the passwd binary from the OS.

    Your data center has to change the password to something and after they do that, can you then access WHM? SSH can be used for many diagnostics (and is required if you want cPanel technical analysts to assist you), so it should not be disabled. See if your data center can re-enable ssh for you so that you can ssh back in. If you then still need help, please open up a support ticket again. The reason the technical analysts couldn't help you last time is because there was no ssh access which will be required if you want us to help.
     
  5. gnoccentral

    gnoccentral Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Peter,

    I'll try again with DC.
     
Loading...

Share This Page