Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Invalid username or password, but correct

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by jojo jenkins, Aug 22, 2018.

  1. jojo jenkins

    jojo jenkins Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Usa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello everyone.
    I have set up an email account. However when I try to login I get an error of invalid username or password.
    They are right .
    I am using Google Android client.
    I start the setup and all seems fine except invalid certificate. It takes the username and password. Then shoots the error when trying to set up incomming server.
    I know the info is correct as I changed it a few times to make sure.
    I am not sure how to fix this problem.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,273
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @jojo jenkins,

    Are you able to access the system via SSH as the root user? If so, you can monitor the /var/log/maillog log file when attempting to login to the email account to see why it fails:

    Code:
    tail -f /var/log/maillog
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jojo jenkins

    jojo jenkins Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Usa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes I was just going to close the thread. I got it working just by deleting the account and recreating it.
    It is fine now.
    It was from a fresh install and I think my client was rejecting it for a certificate reason.
    I think my client on Android is messed up.

    Thank you for the help.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,273
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm glad to see it's now working well. Feel free to contact us again should any further issues arise.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Did you delete and recreate the account in cPanel or on the Android client to get it working?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice