The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Invision Board Upgrade through CPanel [moved]

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by crawdaddy4x4ph, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. crawdaddy4x4ph

    crawdaddy4x4ph Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Invision Board Upgrade through CPanel

    Is upgrading my Invision Board through the CPanel interface (using the button) as easy as it looks? Do I just click on it and it upgrades my board, or do I still have to turn my board off temporarily? What else do I have to do before I upgrade?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Aric1

    Aric1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You will loose any code/theme customization, but your posts and user data should be OK. You should make a backup anyway before proceeding.

    Keep in mind that cPanel offers by default 1.2. All versions of IPB 1.x have known security risks and the 1.x code will never be patched. You will need to get a license for IPB 2.1.x if you want support.
     
  3. crawdaddy4x4ph

    crawdaddy4x4ph Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Aric,
    Losing the custom code is fine (as I only did very minor ones, easily edited back) but I'm afraid of losing all previous posts and user data.

    I regularly backup using my CPanel (Backup option in main Cpanel page), will that backup do?

    Sorry for stupid/newbie questions, I just want to make sure...
     
  4. Aric1

    Aric1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, but make sure you have a backup of your MySQL database AND the IPB directory itself before you begin. If something goes wrong, you can remove the current install and manually restore the MySQL backup and old invision directory.
     
  5. crawdaddy4x4ph

    crawdaddy4x4ph Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Got it, Aric. Thanks! I'll post back if I encounter problems! :D
     

Share This Page