The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ioncube loader in tweak settings but not in easyapache?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Metro2, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm willing to bet that this is a really dumb question, but I need to ask because I've got a customer ready to upload a script that requires ioncube loader to be installed on the server.

    I have the ioncube loader option selectioned in WHM > Tweak Settings > PHP > Loader to use for internal cPanel PHP

    However, I see it also as an optional module to add when running EasyApache, but I have never selected it in there.

    So, should I also re-run EasyApache and select the option to include ioncube from within there as too? Or should I leave it just as is?

    So far I haven't encountered any problems with other clients / scripts on the server, but I'm just wondering if I really need to run EasyApache and include the ioncube option this time, or is just having it selected in Tweak Settings enough...

    Thanks for any advice!

    PS - I'm running:
    WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.6-R27698
    RHEL 4
    Apache 2.2.6
    PHP 5.2.6
    mySQL 5.0.51a
     
  2. ManojB

    ManojB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    pune
    There is no need to run EasyApache. You can install ioncube loader using the following command :

    /scripts/phpextensionmgr install IonCubeLoader

    After this just restart apache

    /scripts/restartsrv httpd
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1. IonCube when installed via EasyApache or the PHP Extension Manager (/scripts/phpextensionmgr) installs IonCube for use by PHP Applications served by Apache.

    2. IonCube when installed via the Tweak Settings option configures the Internal PHP environment to use IonCube.

    The difference:

    Option 1 means IonCube is available for PHP Applications accessed like:

    www.example.com/index.php

    Option 2 means IonCube is available for PHP Applications access like

    www.example.com:2083/index.php

    Option 1 is served by Apache, Option 2 is served by cPanel.
     
    Metro2 likes this.
  4. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thnks for the replies! Adn Kenneth, your detailed explanation was extremely helpful. I'm assuming I need to roll with both options - enabled in tweak settings, and also installed either from easyapache or /scripts...

    Thanks guys,
    M2
     
  5. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have 3 last quick (hopefully simple) questions regarding this if anyone feels like answering.

    If I installed IonCube via /scripts/phpextensionmgr instead of through EasyApache, will it:

    A) Automatically appear as selected / installed the next time I run EasyApache?

    B) Require manual updates, or can it be updated via running EasyApache?

    C) Cause any problems or "duplicate" issues if I choose to select the IonCube option the next time I do recompile with EasyApache?

    Thanks for your insight.
     
  6. rachelm

    rachelm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    A) Yes

    B) Updated via easyapace

    C) No. Ioncube isn't really an "apache" module. It's just in easyapache to... well... make it easy to add :P. But it can be done with phpextensionmgr to avoid the long recompiling process easyapache would use without any problems whatsoever.
     
    Metro2 likes this.
  7. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Many thanks for clearing that up!
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    EasyApache itself uses the phpextensionmgr to perform the installation of these PHP Extensions.
     
  9. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I used Easy Apache to add Ion Cube, and am running into a problem.

    In EasyApache, under the "Short Options List", I checked the box next to:

    IonCube Loader for PHP [More Info ↑]
    3.1.32


    I didn't notice any problems during the install & rebuild, and it finished successfully (but admittedly I did not parse the entire log)

    I noticed now that in my apache error_log, I am seeing these errors:

    Failed loading /usr/local/IonCube/ioncube_loader_lin_5.2.so: /usr/local/IonCube/ioncube_loader_lin_5.2.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

    However, the shared object seems to be there fine:

    root@xxxx [/usr/local/IonCube]# ls
    ./ ../ ioncube_loader_lin_5.2.so* ioncube_loader_lin_5.2_ts.so*


    Thoughts?

    - Scott
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not sure off-hand, Scott. Have you verified IonCube is loaded only once? You might try using /scripts/phpextensionmgr to uninstall, then re-install IonCube loader. Or have one of our techs look at it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page