The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IP Address

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vishal, Feb 25, 2003.

  1. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    I have some 6 ip's assigned to my server. Out of this 6 ip's I had assigned one ip to a particular website. Now I don't remember whom i had assigned it to. In the httpd.conf I could not see any virtualhost entry for this IP. But when I enter this IP in the browser url it goes to default page of some other domain. How do I trace this out and get my ip free.

    Thank you,
     
  2. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,
    If you login to WHM and then go down to Show IP Address Usage it will list the IPs and then to the right of the IP it will show the domains using the IP
    Thanks
     
  3. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Thank you for your reply. I have already checked with that. No domain is bind to that ip. I have asked the data center people to check if that have assigned that ip to any other server.
     
  4. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    is the address in your IP pool?
     
  5. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    yes that ip address belongs to my server ip pool. To test this ip when I ftp to my other ipaddress they log an entry in my /var/log/messages. But when I ftp this ip address no entry is been log.
     
  6. ecoutez

    ecoutez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    /sbin/ifconfig will show if you're currently listening on that IP address or not.

    If you are, perhaps you have an IP conflict with another server using that IP address too.

    - Jason
     
  7. Donna

    Donna BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    And double, triple, quadruple check the IP to make sure it's your's. Being half asleep last night I tried over and over again to figure out why a new client couldn't log into his ftp account.

    Finally I submitted a rather jaded ticket to my datacenter tech staff asking them why one of my IP's was bound to someone elses' server.

    This was quickly followed by the realisation that I was an idiot and told the guy 113 instead of 213. Needless to say that after I got my foot out of my mouth I asked the tech guys to cancel the support ticket :P

    The moral of the story is make absolutely sure you have the right IP. 1 little # wrong caused me hours of hairpulling and worrying that I might lose a very important corporate customer just because he couldn't ftp into the server.
     
Loading...

Share This Page