The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IP Based Site?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PV-Patrick, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. PV-Patrick

    PV-Patrick Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am looking to create an IP based site and I am not exactly sure how to do this in cPanel.

    I am looking at allowing others to point their domains at this website. What are things I need to be aware of? What is the best way to accomplish this with cPanel? Thanks in advance for the help!
     
  2. Humayun

    Humayun Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  3. PV-Patrick

    PV-Patrick Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been through those, I didn't see anything definitive on how to create an IP-based site that does not have a specific domain. I saw the section for creating an account, however does that mean the domain I give for the account is bogus essientially?
     
  4. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Only way I know to do it is manually

    Add the ip you wish to use to the server and activate it
    xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx = added ip

    Add this to the apache config

    NameVirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80
    <VirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80>
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs (path to your web files)
    <IfModule mod_suphp.c>
    suPHP_UserGroup UID GID (of the files)
    </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>
     
  5. PV-Patrick

    PV-Patrick Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks dave9000, I'll give that a try.
     
  6. Ghulam Yaseen

    Ghulam Yaseen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Karachi,Pakistan
    Yaseen

    Hello :),

    login to WHM
    click on account functions
    select Create a New Account
    give your account info and details on what IP you want to use etc
    and your site with any of your choice IP will be ready:cool:
     
  7. Voltar

    Voltar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bakersfield, California
    Little late, but couldn't you just create an account with a domain of "ipsite.tld" or something similar and give it a dedicated IP address?
     
  8. Ghulam Yaseen

    Ghulam Yaseen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Karachi,Pakistan
    Yaseen

    Yes :), this is very possible but in fact i am not sure if SSL certificate is involved in it/not.
    :cool:


     
Loading...

Share This Page