The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IP Change Disabled WWW. in Domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ipchanger, Aug 3, 2009.

  1. ipchanger

    ipchanger Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I was asked by a client to install an SSL certificate on their site. (cPanel®). The site was sharing an IP address with other sites in cPanel, which caused an error when installing the certificate.

    I changed the IP address of the site and was able to install the SSL just fine, but after doing both these tasks, I can no longer access the site if I include www. in the address bar. Not working (cPanel®). Working (Oklahoma City Museum Of Art).

    I read a post that mentioned upgrading cPanel can cause ServerAliases to lose www (http://forums.cpanel.net/f7/serveralias-has-lost-www-all-domains-after-upgrade-75808.html), but I'm not sure if this is the same situation.

    I am new to cPanel, so I may just be over looking something, but I'm lost and the client is getting frustrated. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    J
     
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The IPs are different:


    [~]# dig +short okcmoa.com
    74.52.105.8
    [~]# dig +short cPanel®
    74.52.105.2

    Looks like you just need to fix the DNS.
     
  3. ipchanger

    ipchanger Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the information. How do I go about fixing the DNS? Is that done in cPanel or GoDaddy where the domain is hosted?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have the nameserver of the domain set to use the cPanel/WHM server's nameservers, then the change would be done on the cPanel/WHM server.

    Otherwise, the change would be with Godaddy.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have root (server administrator) access to the server, feel welcome to contact our technical analysts for further assistance: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
  6. InstaCarma_Tech

    InstaCarma_Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It is accessible for me both ways at the moment.
    Are you still facing the issue?
     
Loading...

Share This Page