The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IP Host Name Forwarder - How

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rohit09, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. rohit09

    rohit09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a question - How people do that ?

    Example

    => 66.228.112.145 Forward to hostnine.com


    As Server Hosted by Softlayer. Then How Hostnine forward this Ip on this hostname?

    How do I do that. ??:confused:
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You don't forward IPs normally, you can forward domain names easy enough though. Is that what you mean?

    I did come across this article about IP fowarding if you're interested:
    /http://www.ducea.com/2006/08/01/how-to-enable-ip-forwarding-in-linux/
     
  3. rohit09

    rohit09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm still don't understand how to do that
    Code:
    66.228.112.145 Forward to hostnine.com
     
  4. rohit09

    rohit09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Maybe I fail to explain :( See the SC below

    Code:
    http://lulzimg.com/i24/d14bbf.png
    See the server from Softlayer "Read One" but the Ip "Black" Showing the hostnine.

    Not only with them I saw some of VPS with same thing.. How they do that??
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That the rDNS PTR record for the IP. If you would like an IP to show something to match your hostname, you'd need to ask whoever provided the IP to set up a different PTR record for it.
     
  6. rohit09

    rohit09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    In that case I have my own dedicated server. Is I still need to Inform my DC to do that?
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you still need to contact your datacenter, NOC or provider to setup the PTR record for the reverse DNS (rDNS) for the IP. Whoever provides the IPs to you control the IP zone files, which differ from the DNS zone files. The IP zone files are where the PTR would be set. As such, it isn't having a dedicated machine that matters in this regard, it's who controls the delegation of the IP zone for records. Most times, only the datacenter, NOC or service provider controls those IP zones.
     
Loading...

Share This Page