The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IP (IPv4) addresses added not working

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by CBG, May 28, 2016.

  1. CBG

    CBG Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I got a cPanel VPS through Vultr and got an extra IP (IPv4), however the IP is not working.

    I have done the following:
    • Added the IP through WHM, while setting up WHM.
    • Installed CSF
    • Changed the SSH port
    • Changed it from DHPC to Static.
    • Rebooted.

    So then I tried:
    • Pinging the IP from my computer - Didn't work
    • Pinging the IP from the server via SSH - Did work.
    • Deleted and re-added the IP - Didn't work
    • Ordered another IP from Vultr and added it - Didn't resolve, same as the other one.

    The 2 extra IPs have the Netmask of 255.255.252.0 and 255.255.254.0
    But I set it to 255.255.255.0 as that is what the cPanel Docs said.

    [root@tessa ~]# service ipaliases restart
    UnRouting 45.xx.xx.84 [ OK ]
    Shutting down eth0:cp2 [ OK ]
    UnRouting 45.xx.xxx.108 [ OK ]
    Shutting down eth0:cp1 [ OK ]
    Bringing up eth0:cp1 [ OK ]
    Routing 45.xx.xxx.108 [ OK ]
    Bringing up eth0:cp2 [ OK ]
    Routing 45.xx.xx.84 [ OK ]
    [root@tessa ~]#

    [root@tessa ~]# ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 56:xx:xx:xx:xx:36
    inet addr:45.xx.xx.173 Bcast:45.xx.xx.255 Mask:255.255.252.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::xxxx:xx:xxxx:xxxx/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:1874 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1543 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:215476 (210.4 KiB) TX bytes:320589 (313.0 KiB)

    eth0:cp1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 56:xx:xx:xx:xx:36
    inet addr:45.xx.xxx.108 Bcast:45.xx.xxx.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

    eth0:cp2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 56:xx:xx:xx:xx:36
    inet addr:45.xx.xx.84 Bcast:45.xx.xx.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
    RX packets:695 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:695 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:99544 (97.2 KiB) TX bytes:99544 (97.2 KiB)

    [root@tessa ~]#

    [root@tessa ~]# nano /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 108.61.10.10
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4


    [root@tessa network-scripts]# nano ifcfg-eth0
    DEVICE="eth0"
    BOOTPROTO="static"
    ONBOOT="yes"
    TYPE="Ethernet"
    NM_CONTROLLED="no"
    IPADDR=45.xx.xx.173
    NETMASK=255.255.252.0
    GATEWAY=45.xx.xx.1
    DNS1=108.61.10.10
    IPV6_AUTOCONF=yes
    IPV6INIT=yes
    #DNS2=2001:xxx:xxx:xxxx::6

    Vultr has also confirmed the IPs are routing ok
     
    #1 CBG, May 28, 2016
    Last edited: May 28, 2016
  2. CBG

    CBG Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have got them working, now I completely reinstalled the VPS, then I changed eth0 to static from DHCP.
    Went through the basic setup of WHM, then after added the IPs.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page