Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

IP issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jj@24khost, May 12, 2011.

  1. jj@24khost

    jj@24khost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Problem I am having is i have update /etc/hosts multiple times and it keeps changing and locking out apache I reset it and it works fine anyone got any ideas?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    what changes are you making to /etc/hosts?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jj@24khost

    jj@24khost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    well it keeps changing from 127.0.0.1 to the main ip address of the server and then it goes down.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That's not really normal...I make mods to /etc/hosts all the time and usually the '127.0.0.1 localhost' line doesn't get altered.

    You mind copying in the before and after of your /etc/hosts file? (i.e, what it's supposed to look like and then what it gets changed to)?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,429
    Likes Received:
    1,960
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Could you let us know the full cPanel version number, along with the environment type of the system?

    Code:
    # grep -Hi . /usr/local/cpanel/version /var/cpanel/envtype
    Also, I suggest opening a ticket for this problem so we may investigate further:

    Submit A Ticket

    Please do let us know the ticket ID once you open the ticket.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice