The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ip lost after reboot

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by adapter, Sep 17, 2005.

  1. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    if i add a new ip from whm on my eth0 and i try to reboot the server or to restart the eth0 interface i lost that ip that i have add, why?

    i use RHEL4

    thank you
     
  2. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Can you try restarting the ipaliases and see if it comes back. Also please see /etc/ips does have the IP in question
     
  3. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes i have it in /etc/ips i have try also to sop and restart iptables but this dont fix my problem
     
  4. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India

    I didn't mean iptables but ipaliases

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/ipaliases restart
     
  5. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    add /etc/rc.d/init.d/ipaliases restart
    to the /etc/rc.local file
     
  6. loverboy

    loverboy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    open /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf and serch ip

    and change it with the shared ip

    and you will found it in free ip :)
     
  7. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    the ipaliases issue is a known problem with RHEL/CentOS v4. All thats required to correct it is to restart ipaliases either manually or by adding it to the /etc/rc.local file.

    I really do not know what advice your trying to give them but this will not fix the issue they are having and telling someone to manually edit the httpd,conf to change a ip is not wise advice at all on a cpanel box due to settings no longer being in sync between what cpanel,bind,exim thinks the ip should be and what the apache thinks it should be
     
Loading...

Share This Page