The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IP Unusable

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gotalk, Feb 13, 2009.

1. gotalk

gotalk Member

Please bare with me as I explain this. I'm a newbie with a VPS running CentOS 4.7 and cPanel/WHM 11.24. I was given a single IP (xxx.xxx.xxx.98) for sharing and I later added another through the WHM interface (xxx.xxx.xxx.100). I did this without realizing that I needed to have my datacenter assign the IP. Strange thing is, it worked just fine and I put a site on the IP with SSL cert and it worked fine for months. Suddenly the site went down last week. I moved the site to the shared IP to get it back up and started researching the problem. That's when I discovered that the dc needed to assign my IP. I removed the IP through WHM interface and then contacted dc for an IP. They gave my xxx.xxx.xxx.100, the same one I had manually added earlier. The IP won't work. I can't ping it from off the server, but can from the server. I did notice that the subnet mask they provided was different than the default I used when I added it through WHM. Can someone walk me through the steps to manually bind the IP. I have a feeling this is because there is an improper subnet mask referenced for the IP in some file on my server. If I knew all the files that need to be added/edited to manually bind the IP, I could probably trace it down. Thanks for your time!

2. gotalk

gotalk Member

I think I may have found something. I have put all the correct info in ips and started ipaliases. Shouldn't I see a ifcfg-eth0:0 in the netwrk-scripts directory? I only see ifcfg-eth0 Even stranger, ifconfig shows the new ip on ifcfg-eth0:1 which doesn't exist in the scripts directory either.

#2 gotalk, Feb 13, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2009
  3. gotalk

gotalk Member