Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

ip/~username question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fuzzy, Jul 10, 2005.

  1. fuzzy

    fuzzy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Well.. before on my old server users(if they didnt have a domain) could go to their website by putting http://serverip/~username.. it doesn't work anymore for me, does anyone know why or how to fix it?
     
  2. domenetorget

    domenetorget Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Hokksund, Norway
    Check the mod_userdir Tweak.
     
  3. Don7t

    Don7t Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Also try with a following slash /
     
  4. RavenSoul_

    RavenSoul_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Belgium
    Your host has probably mod_userdir tweaked:

    Maybe you can contact them to change this (if their policy allows it)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 RavenSoul_, Jul 10, 2005
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2005
  5. wmoore025

    wmoore025 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I have the same question but the other way around. I am on a VPS, I want it so I can only do the /~ so I checked my usernames for the ones I wanted to ignore and all is still accessible.. and the main one to enable is checked.

    It seems I have to unceck

    DefaultHost (nobody) for all o have no access, and check when want access. Not matter what combo i use I am stuck lol

    Please help a newbie

    Thanks!
     
  6. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Having the same issues with some sites

    anyone know the cause or a fix for this?
     
  7. dropby23

    dropby23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    same thing for me when a new account is created the protection becomes disabled so everytime when an account is created i removes the sign from the defaulthost and enable the protection
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice