The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[ipcheck] emails (modedit)

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by WildWayz, Jan 12, 2002.

  1. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just got this email from root on my server and was wondering what it is going on about...

    [quote:835003e3ba]
    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    The hostname (insomnia.pcnoc.net) resolves to 127.0.0.1. It should resolve to 209.51.136.157. Please be sure to correct /etc/hosts as well as the \'A\' entry in zone file for the domain.

    Some are all of these problems can be caused by
    /etc/resolv.conf being setup incorrectly. Please check this file if you
    believe everything else is correct.
    [/quote:835003e3ba]

    /etc/hosts reads
    [quote:835003e3ba]
    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 insomnia.pcnoc.net insomnia localhost.localdomain localhost
    [/quote:835003e3ba]

    /etc/resolv.conf reads
    [quote:835003e3ba]
    domain darkorb.net
    search darkorb.net
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 66.96.193.2
    nameserver 66.96.194.2
    [/quote:835003e3ba]

    Any ideas what I should do?

    James
     
  2. sbrad

    sbrad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just got the SAME email. This is very disturbing. Anyone know what this is all about?
     
  3. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    http://support.cpanel.net/new/viewthread.php?tid=1036&page=2
     
  4. n2nis

    n2nis Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same Problem Here

    I to just go that email
     
  5. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In your /etc/hosts, make sure that your server IP and hostname is on a separate line:

    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    1.2.3.4 insomnia.pcnoc.net insomnia

    That should get rid of the warning message for you.

    [Edit]BTW, we got a couple of false positives on two servers, so take that into account.[/Edit]
     
  6. Pete

    Pete Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I\'ve been getting the same mail message for my site.. My host file is as:

    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 xxx.domain.net
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    xxx.xx.xx.xx xxx.domain.net

    Naturally I have real names and numbers where I have entered xxx\'s here..
     
  7. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:128016acae][i:128016acae]Originally posted by Annette[/i:128016acae]
    In your /etc/hosts, make sure that your server IP and hostname is on a separate line:

    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    1.2.3.4 insomnia.pcnoc.net insomnia

    That should get rid of the warning message for you.

    [Edit]BTW, we got a couple of false positives on two servers, so take that into account.[/Edit] [/quote:128016acae]


    I really doubt there are false positives here.. Something is probably setup wrong still.
     
  8. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ipcheck doesn\'t seem to check whether the system has more than 1 network card. It goes straight to eth0 to check its IP number. Our eth0 has the nightly backup card and we received an error last message despite that the setup for the host name is correct.
     
  9. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    I have 2 of them now.
     
  10. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:83e4eac5c2][i:83e4eac5c2]Originally posted by bdraco[/i:83e4eac5c2]

    I really doubt there are false positives here.. Something is probably setup wrong still. [/quote:83e4eac5c2]

    Well, we got three, and two were incorrect as there was nothing wrong with the config on either box. In fact, one indicated that the hostname for the server should resolve to an incorrect IP address. If it\'s not picking out the right eth and we can\'t find any other issues (and the hostnames resolve properly when traced/pinged from various locations), I count that as a false positive. That doesn\'t concern me much, as I know what we\'re looking at when we see those things, but we have ded clients who might not understand and who might be concerned unnecessarily.
     
  11. AmityHosting

    AmityHosting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i fixed mine...

    well i think i did this morning when i got it.

    i have 2 servers, one did not send the message whilst the other did, resolv.conf was differnt.

    The error server sent amessage and it had burst.net in resolv.conf whilst the working server had the server ip.

    This is now how mine looks and is working:


    domain (main server ip)
    search localhost
    nameserver (main server ip (ns1)

    hope this helps....
     
  12. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ya - no errors here either

    --James
     
  13. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This script is very useful in alerting admins to incorrect dns configs. It also helps the server run more efficiently as the host name getting resolved correctly is so crucial.

    No need for panic. :) Nick will no doubt add a few lines to the script soon so that it searches for the existence of more than 1 network card to see if the host\'s IP address validates to one of them.

    [quote:485c652b5e]domain (main server ip)
    search localhost
    nameserver (main server ip (ns1)[/quote:485c652b5e]
    Can we have other resolv.conf config examples from other forum members so we can all benefit?
     
  14. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Separate comment...

    Any idea how I can stop those LAME SERVER errors in my port sentry logs?

    --James
     
  15. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    BTW, if these messages are going to be sent, how about correcting the grammar:

    \"Some are all of these problems can be caused by \"

    This should be \"Some or all...\".

    Thanks.
     
  16. WeinBar

    WeinBar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    [quote:5de4b19d45][i:5de4b19d45]Originally posted by WildWayz[/i:5de4b19d45]
    Separate comment...

    Any idea how I can stop those LAME SERVER errors in my port sentry logs?

    --James [/quote:5de4b19d45]

    James:

    In your /etc/named.conf file, add the following to the top:


    logging {
    category lame-servers { null; };
    };

    And restart named
     
  17. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Michael!

    James
     
  18. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    All I have is :
    ---------------------------
    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 boxman.myserver.com boxname localhost.localdomain localhost



    In my /etc/hosts file.

    My resolv.conf only has off network DNS servers in it.

    I get the IP check emails... what do I need in these files?
     
  19. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    rpmws: change your /etc/hosts 2

    <main ip here> boxman.myserver.com boxname
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
     
  20. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Hey Nick,

    I apreachate your help man :)

    I stil lwant to make sure I have this thing correct now. This box has been up for 110 days with no real issues and it is hosting 400 domains 1200 zones and does 130GB transfer a month. Here is how I have things set up.


    First of all this box was a move from you know where. I used to have my namebased account created onto the main server IP. Well my mail IP now is kinda separate group so I simply changed my IPs to a easier number to put the name based accounts on.

    So what I have is ZZZ.XXX.DDD.25 as a main IP. I have WHM setup to create name based accounts on my first IP in my class which is XXX.XXX.XXX.2 ..and all the old name based from other NOC are now also on that saem IP. So all my name based new and old wind up on that IP. NOT the main box IP. Everything works fine.

    I get the warning emails so I figured I better make sure I am ok.
    My box = boxname.myserver.com

    I also have a account that points to the name based IP xxx.xxx.xxx.2 and that account name is \"myserver.com\"

    So basically in my zone file for \"myserver.com\" ..I have a added A record in there for \"boxname.myserver.com\" > ZZZ.XXX.DDD.25 (main IP)

    Do I need a new zone called \"boxname.myserver.com.db\" or can we use the \"myserver.com.db\" one like I have been.

    Also my resolv.conf.

    Wel lI was one of those that could NOT keep things runing with any local nameserver on that box listed in the resolv.conf , so I run the burstnet DNS in there.

    My resolv.comf

    domain myserver.com
    search myserver.com
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 66.96.193.2
    nameserver 66.96.194.2

    This is what I have now for about a hour and things seem ok.

    Do I have everything OK now by you looking at this?

    What is \"domain\" and \"search\" for ..are mine OK?

    also in my \"edit setup\" for \"Enter the first/primary IP address you wish to be assigned to the first Ethernet network device (eth0).\" I have not the main BOX IP but that IP I use for the name based accounts. Is that OK? will this cause problems now? Now that I have changed the resolv.conf and the /etc/hosts ?

    Thanks in advance!
     
Loading...

Share This Page