The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[ipcheck] Problem with DNS setup on Server.SITE.COM

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Akoori, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. Akoori

    Akoori Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.

    The hostname (server.SITE.COM) resolves to 192.168.1.1. It
    should resolve to 174.36.213.175. Please be sure that the contents
    of /etc/hosts are configured correctly, and also that there is a
    correct 'A' entry for the domain in the zone file.

    Some or all of these problems can be caused by /etc/resolv.conf
    being setup incorrectly. Please check that file if you believe
    everything else is correct.

    You may be able to automatically correct this problem by using the
    'Add an A entry for your hostname' option under 'Dns Functions' in
    your Web Host Manager.


    I check all files but I have got this error and server.site.com is not up
    Also I check A entry in domain panel

    What is the problem?
     
  2. John Edel

    John Edel Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is this a new dedicated/virtual server? I find it easier to go in through SSH - check /var/named/SITE.COM.db and look for the A record with the incorrect IP and replace it with the correct address.

    This can also happen if you switched server providers and the hostnames of the two servers are identical, though the issue almost certainly is a typo in the DNS zone. If /var/named/site.com.db checks out, go into "Basic cPanel/WHM Setup" and re-run "Assign an A Entry For Your Hostname" again.

    Keep us posted!
     
    #2 John Edel, Sep 7, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2012
  3. Akoori

    Akoori Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dud 192.168.1.1 was an example
     
    #3 Akoori, Sep 7, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2012
  4. John Edel

    John Edel Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In that case, try xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx or something next time or you'll have guys like me taking you seriously and trying to wrap their mind around it! :-p

    Take a moment to look in those areas I mentioned formerly and let us know what you find.
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is the IP in /etc/hosts versus /etc/sysconfig/network versus hostname -i returns? Does a dig on the hostname return the right IP?

    Code:
    dig +short hostname.domain.com
    Please replace hostname.domain.com with the fully qualified hostname.

    You are welcome to submit a ticket in WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature if you cannot fix the issue with the provided details, although please post the ticket number here if you do so we can track the resolution.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page