The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[ipcheck] Problem with DNS setup on server1.sshah.co

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ssj4sunny, Dec 19, 2012.

  1. ssj4sunny

    ssj4sunny Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi there! I am having a few problems with my cPanel and WHM. I keep getting this e-mail from the system:

    Whenever I try to access my mail login portal or something similar with server1.sshah.co I get a DNS lookup error. I have tried to add the A entry under WHM but it still does solve the problem.

    This is what is in my hosts file in the etc directory:

    and resolv.conf:

    Anyone know a solution for this?

    Thanks.
    Sunny
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In WHM you go to -> DNS Functions-> Edit Dns Zone
    choose Zone sshah.co,
    then add this entry:
    server1 14400 IN A 109.111.217.174

    and click "Save"
     
  3. ssj4sunny

    ssj4sunny Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your reply but I seem to have the same problem still
     
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In SSH command line, as root, do this:
    Code:
    /scripts/ipcheck --verbose
    
    what do you get?
     
  5. ssj4sunny

    ssj4sunny Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the reply once again.

    I got this in SSH:

     
  6. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Name servers of domain sshah.co are:

    ns1.farbyte.com IP: 109.111.221.7
    ns2.farbyte.com IP: 109.111.217.20

    The IP address of domain sshah.co is 109.111.217.174, so I suppose you are running your server in that IP.
    Those name servers above do not know hostname server1.sshah.co.

    You obviously have a DNS Zone for the domain sshah.co in your server, but because those name servers above do not point to your server it is NOT used.

    So you have 2 ways to fix this:

    1: set the name servers of the domain sshah.co to point to your server.

    2: where the DNS Zone of the domain sshah.co is hosted now, add the A record for the hostname server1.sshah.co.
     
Loading...

Share This Page