The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[ipcheck] Problem with DNS setup

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by aiden_g_1234, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Code:
    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
     
    Your hostname (server1.bazingahosting.net) could not be resolved to
    an IP address. This means that /etc/hosts is not set up correctly,
    and/or there is no dns entry for server1.bazingahosting.net. Please
    be sure that the contents of /etc/hosts are configured correctly,
    and also that there is a correct 'A' entry for the domain in the
    zone file.
     
    Some or all of these problems can be caused by /etc/resolv.conf
    being setup incorrectly. Please check that file if you believe
    everything else is correct.
     
    You may be able to automatically correct this problem by using the
    'Add an A entry for your hostname' option under 'Dns Functions' in
    your Web Host Manager.


    Well for over a week now i keep getting this error and ive tried alot of things and wasted alot of time im on Cloudlinux 5.7 and on my own Dedicated Server ive checked resolv.conf and /etc/hosts

    I referred to this post and now i am waiting

    Here is the contents:




    /etc/hosts

    Code:
    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1               localhost
    xx.xx.xxx.xxx           bazinga.bazingahosting.net bazinga

    I just put xx i dont wanna give away my real ip :P

    /etc/resolv.conf
    Code:
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 4.2.2.1
    nameserver 4.2.2.2
    nameserver 4.2.2.3
    nameserver 4.2.2.4
    I have no idea on where to go next can someone please help i can pay you while somebody does it oveer teamviewer
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    According to this site you've got some issues: /http://www.intodns.com/
     
  3. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yeah obviously
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It looks like the issue in your case has less to do with resolvers, and more to do with the name servers assigned to the domain name your hostname is under. If you notice, the IP addresses used for your name servers are not responding to DNS requests. Are these the same IP addresses added to your server? If so, you will need to determine why they are not responding to DNS requests. There may be firewall rules causing this, or it could be an issue with the /etc/named.conf file. Feel free to open a support ticket so we can check further:

    Submit A Ticket

    Please post the ticket number here so we can track the issue.

    Thank you.
     
  5. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I cant post a ticket it wont let me
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you receiving a specific error when attempting to open a ticket?

    Also, have you checked the firewall rules on your server, and confirmed the IP addresses added to your server match the name server IP addresses used for your name servers at the domain registrar?

    Thank you.
     
  7. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Posted it twice whoops
     
    #7 aiden_g_1234, Feb 7, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
  8. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Code:
    Your resolvers have been successfully configured.
    Listed in order, they are:
    
        72.3.128.240
        72.3.128.241

    Then i done the nameservers:

    FOR NS1~

    Code:
    Assigning IP address for ns1.bazinghosting.net...            ...Done
    
    	
    The nameserver has been assigned the IP 10.179.2.127. 
    


    FOR NS2~

    Code:
    Assigning IP address for ns2.bazingahosting.net...            ...Done
    
    	
    The nameserver has been assigned the IP 192.168.0.1. 

    If i click on "add an a entry for this nameserver" it popups but its just blank

    Then i click on nameserver ips and get this

    /http://screensnapr.com/v/0aNol4.png View 0aNol4.png on ScreenSnapr
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your resolvers should not be the IP addresses that are added to your server. You should change them to the ones provided by your hosting provider, or to the ones you mentioned using in your initial message on this thread. Were you able to confirm if 72.3.128.240 and 72.3.128.241 are IP addresses added to your server? You can check this via:

    "WHM >> IP Functions >> Show or Delete Current IP Addresses"

    Also, ensure you have no firewall rules in place that could be causing this problem.

    Thank you.
     
  10. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is what i have for ip addresses

    /http://i.imgur.com/mNVCV.png
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It looks like the name servers you are using for your domain name point to another DNS server. You should add the "A" record for your hostname at the remote DNS server, rather than through Web Host Manager. If you want the DNS for this domain name controlled on the cPanel server, you have to change the name server IP addresses for your name servers to the public IP address on your server. This change is made at the domain registrar.

    Thank you.
     
  12. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    the domain nameservers are set for

    ns1.bazingahosting.net
    ns2.bazingahosting.net


    /http://screensnapr.com/v/IzVc2M.png
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    Could you please explain what problems you're having with the ticket system?
     
  14. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For the ticket system i put in my server ip and the support access id

    Then it says "The provided IP and support access id do not match."


    Edit: if i click on Cloudlinux instead of cPanel & WHM it goes to the next step
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's not so much the name servers that are assigned, but rather the name server IP addresses that are assigned to your name servers at the domain registrar. These should be public IP addresses that added to your cPanel server.

    Thank you.
     
  16. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry what do you mean?
     
  17. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OK i edited /var/cpanel/nameserverips.yaml

    and this was in it


    Code:
    ---
    ns1.bazingahosting.net:
      "": 1
      count: '1'
      zones: bazinga.bazingahosting.net
    ns2.bazingahosting.net:
      "": 1
      count: '1'
      zones: bazinga.bazingahosting.net
    SO i edited and now i have:



    Code:
    ---
    ns1.bazingahosting.net:
      "72.3.128.240": 1
      count: '1'
      zones: bazinga.bazingahosting.net
    ns2.bazingahosting.net:
      "72.3.128.241": 1
      count: '1'
      zones: bazinga.bazingahosting.net

    Then this works but still isnt working i may have to wait 24 hours for propagation

    /http://screensnapr.com/v/OcHpLb.png
     
    #17 aiden_g_1234, Feb 9, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2012
  18. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is the correct setup, assuming those IP addresses are added to your server. Please run the following commands to confirm that:

    Code:
    # ifconfig|grep 72.3.128.240
    # ifconfig|grep 72.3.128.241
    
    Or, check to see if they are added via:

    Code:
    "WHM >> IP Functions >> Show or Delete Current IP Addresses"
    Thank you.
     
  19. aiden_g_1234

    aiden_g_1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    View nPqrHa.png on ScreenSnapr

    I think thats it i added them because they werent on the list

    then i had to change /etc/nameserverips

    but i think thats done

    What now?
     
  20. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you sure your data center has delegated those IP addresses to your server? If they have not, then simply adding them to Web Host Manager will not achieve anything.

    Here is my overall take on the issue. You are using the wrong name server IP addresses at your domain registrar. Change them to an IP address that is already on your cPanel server. EX:

    ns1.bazingahosting.net - 50.56.190.145
    ns2.bazingahosting.net - 50.56.190.145

    This change has to occur at your domain registrar. There should be a section that allows you to update the name server IP address for your name servers in the administrative area of your domain registrar.

    Once you complete that, you can then update the "A" records for your name servers on the cPanel server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page