Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

[ipcheck] Problems with dns setup on my server

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by comake, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. comake

    comake Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello,

    Since the recent update of cpanel, I have received this email :

    Actually, I don't have problems with my website.
    I am totally newbie. Does I need to make any change ?
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    check the things it says and make sure there is something in those files tat should not be there

    /etc/hosts
    /etc/resolv.conf

    and add an A record
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Jaipagare

    Jaipagare Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    India - Maharashtra - Nasik
    Network...

    Please don't forget to fire the command atlast
    service network restart
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. CaMer0n

    CaMer0n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    When I do: service network restart, it only brings up the main IP, and shuts down the others.
    After some googling, I found the following information:

    You actually need to issue

    (not restart) or
    to rebind the ipaddresses for the ip-based site.

    Full thread here:
    http://forums.theplanet.com/index.php?showtopic=57963

    I don't know if this is specific to ThePlanet or if it's a Cpanel/WHM problem in general.
    I would be interested to read comments from others on this.

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 CaMer0n, Sep 26, 2007
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2007
  5. SonicE

    SonicE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I have the same problem but after putting a ticket to ThePlanet support all errors are solved. Here is the answer:
    The two Recursive Lookups DNS severs are with ThePlanet IP's.
    Now I'm happy. So when you have such kind of issues just put a ticket to your support.

    Cheers

    BTW: CaMerOn I am from Free-Source.net Team and you have greetings from Miro :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #5 SonicE, Dec 12, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2007
  6. majoosh

    majoosh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    India
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice