Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

IPCS command

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tina!, Jun 9, 2006.

  1. Tina!

    Tina! Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello Guys,

    My data center have used the below mentioned command:

    ipcs -s | grep nobody | perl -e 'while (<STDIN>) { @a=split(/\s+/); print `ipcrm sem $a[1]`}'

    I am not sure about of its use. However, I have tried to run this command and responded with the output

    Resource(s) deleted

    Can anyone tell me regarding this command and use of the command 'ipcs' ?

    Thanks,
    -Tina.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. TSDave

    TSDave Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    That entire line is meant to remove semaphores; Let's call them 'things' that sit resident in your RAM often when you don't want them to; This command deletes all of the ones apache creates (the grep nobody).
     
  3. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    So this is a method for freeing up RAM that is used by unnecessary 'things'? Sounds almost too good to be true!

    The command is definitely safe to run?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I wouldn't run it unless Apache was shut down at the time. Running it while Apache is running may cause Apache to get substantially confused.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. nidhin_nl

    nidhin_nl Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    So is it secure to run the commands in server ?
     
  6. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    on a sidenote, I would NEVER run a command that you do not understand the ramifications of. For example, some admins run the rm -rf * from a specific folder without the absolute path (rm -rf /home/USER/Public_html/FOLDER) instead they traverse to the folder with a cd and then do the rm -rf *. You may not always catch this in the history file
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice