The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IPs added in WHM not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by commuterzombie, Apr 2, 2009.

  1. commuterzombie

    commuterzombie Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi everyone, hope you can help this is driving me mad...

    I have two /29 ranges allocated to my server by my hosting provider. I have a number of sites on the server allocated across these IPs. I've just restarted my server and 3 of the ips (all with single, important e-commerce sites on them!) are no longer pingable.

    I've checked that they're still listed in WHM. They are an they have green status ticks and can't be removed. I've checked IP address usage and the correct sites are listed against the correct IPs.

    I then logged in via SSH and restarted the networking service. This didn't work so I double -checked that all IPs were listed in /etc/ips (they were) and then ran "service ipaliases restart". This brought up all interfaces but the same three IP addresses still don't respond to pings, (and the websites are down). The 3 IPs that don't work are all in the same /29. The other two usable IPs in that range (one of them the main IP of the server) works fine, and the IPs from the second range are all fine as well.

    I'm now out of ideas, can anyone help? Is there a way to force Cpanel to rebuild its IP config?

    EDIT: Thought this might be relevant, I'm running Centos 5.2 64-bit and the WHM/Cpanel version is the VPS optimised one.
     
    #1 commuterzombie, Apr 2, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2009
  2. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    1- Try a tracert of your IP and check where is it ending up.
    2- Try 'telnet yourip 25', see if its ending up at your VPS.

    These are two quick checks. On a VPS, you may have to ask your hosting provider to remove and re-add them at node level for you to get them working.
     
  3. commuterzombie

    commuterzombie Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply, I ran tracerts of all the addresses, and the results were the same.

    I then tested all of the IPs, and the three that were broken before are now working again. I haven't made any changes on my end, and I'm pretty sure that the hosts haven't made any changes.

    Oh well, at least it's working now, but I'd like to have a better plan than waiting and hoping if this happens again...
     
Loading...

Share This Page