The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IPs all being sucked up by host name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Stallyon, Aug 25, 2007.

  1. Stallyon

    Stallyon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For some reason my host name is taking over every account I terminate and not releasing the IPs for re-use for new accounts. If I look at Show IP address usage it shows my host name as HTTP usage under every single IP address and is showing up these IPs as being used, so I can not assign them to any new accounts :(

    I am using cPanel 11.11.0 E16448
     
    #1 Stallyon, Aug 25, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2007
  2. Stallyon

    Stallyon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello? Does anyone at all know what is causing this?
     
  3. sszymczak

    sszymczak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just noticed this as well...I don't have any free IP addresses because of it.
     
  4. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Have you checked to see if they are showing up under "Show/Edit Reserved IPs " or maybe run the "Rebuild the IP Address Pool " to see if it fixes anything ???
     
  5. sszymczak

    sszymczak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Reserved IPs will show them being available, but rebuilding the IP address pool shows "System has 0 free ips."
     
  6. Nessy

    Nessy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    this is the problem i am having, i just added some new ips and its saying theres no ips free
     
  7. MattDees

    MattDees cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nessy,
    If you would please open a support ticket with us at https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/index.cgi?reqtype=tickets we would be more than happy to investigate this issue for you. If you could please reference this thread when you open the ticket, it would expedite the speed that we are able to troubleshoot your issue.
     
  8. Nessy

    Nessy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Matt,

    I will do that now
     
  9. sszymczak

    sszymczak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Has anything come out of this yet?
     
  10. VexT

    VexT Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had to remove the vhosts entry for the IP address that I wanted to use in httpd.conf to free up the IP address.

    <VirtualHost x.x.x.x>
    BytesLog domlogs/x.x.x.x-bytes_log
    ServerName x.x.x.x
    ServerAdmin root@localhost
    DocumentRoot /dev/null
    ScriptAliasMatch .* /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/domainredirect.cgi
    </VirtualHost>
     
  11. xvihost

    xvihost Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm also wondering if anything has come of this yet.

    I have old subdomains and my server's hostname ghosting in the "Show IP Address Usage" table for IPs which should be free to use.

    The subdomains resolve to the shared IP, so they are definitely not taking up one of the dedicated IPs.

    How can I eliminate these ghosting domains and my own server hostname from ghosting? (Two of the ghosting subdomains are FTP by the way)

    Thanks,
    Tom
     
Loading...

Share This Page