The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IP's don't show up on centos 7

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tloosle, Aug 2, 2015.

  1. tloosle

    tloosle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have added several ips into a new setup of cpanel on centos. The first 8 or 9 show up but not the rest. When I try to add them it says they exist, but nowhere do they show up. They will not ping as well.

    I have checked many things but nothing works.

    ??
     
  2. ModServ

    ModServ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try this command:

    Code:
    /etc/init.d/ipaliases restart
     
  3. tloosle

    tloosle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks. That command does not exist in that location. I have rebooted the server a few times, which should restart any services as well. Still no joy..
     
  4. ModServ

    ModServ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oh sorry I didn't pay attention to CentOS 7.

    Try this:
    Code:
    systemctl restart ipaliases
    Also check this file if it has contents:
    Code:
    /etc/ips
     
  5. tloosle

    tloosle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the ip address' are in the ips file.

    restart ipaliases still does not bring them to the web interface nor make them ping or useable.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you verify the method you are using to add the IP addresses?

    Thank you.
     
  7. tloosle

    tloosle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    from the gui, one at a time
     
  8. tloosle

    tloosle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is clearly a bug in cpanel or the centos 7.

    I have built two new servers on centos 7 and after adding 9 ip's plus the original ip, no more ips will show up or ping once in the server.

    Is there anyone from cpanel aware of this?
     
  9. tloosle

    tloosle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have been told that this is because of the new naming of the ethernet ports in centos 7 which exceed 15 characters. ??

    Does anyone have a solution to this?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    CentOS offers a FAQ answer on this topic, including steps to revert to the previous naming:

    CentOS 7 FAQ

    Thank you.
     
  11. tloosle

    tloosle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks, but every step in those faq and more have been tried without any success.
     
  12. tloosle

    tloosle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been told that there is a 15 character limit to the interface name in cpanel. Don't know if that is the case, but nothing I can find has solved this issue.

    Seems cpanel is not yet ready for Centos7.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page