The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IP's missing after reboot

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by theprimehost, Aug 13, 2004.

  1. theprimehost

    theprimehost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    For some reason, everytime we reboot, our IP's turn from green in WHM to brown and we have to delete and readd them.

    Anyone know of this or a fix?

    Best Regards,
    -Darrell
     
  2. Dr. Bogger

    Dr. Bogger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cpanel probably did not add them at reboot. um... I forget how to add them to the bootup process. i know if you install WebMin you can do it in there.

    Does anyone know how to add them to the bootup process?
     
  3. clook

    clook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    cPanel should start them at bootup. The command to do this manually is:

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/ipaliases start
     
  4. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If your running RedHat make sure S<some number>ipaliases exists in /etc/rc.d/rc3.d

    if not then run this command in SSH

    ln -s /etc/rc.d/init.d/ipaliases /etc/rc.d/rc3.d/S11ipaliases
     
  5. zentity

    zentity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What does

    /sbin/chkconfig --list ipaliases

    return ?

    You should get

    Code:
    ipaliases       0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
    
    If not then type

    /sbin/chkconfig add ipaliases
    /sbin/chkconfig ipaliases on

    Should do it - Make sure the script is in /etc/init.d/ipaliases if you get an error.

    You may have the IP's misconfigured but try that first.
     
  6. theprimehost

    theprimehost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes that is what I have. However the server just crashed and when rebooted the IP's were brown again.
     
  7. zentity

    zentity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It sounds as though the server IP's are misconfigured or there are multiple scripts trying to start the ips up - Can you find the part in /var/log/messages where the IP's start routing when the server is coming up from reboot? That may provide a clue to the location of the problem.

    Do you have anything within /etc/rc.d/rc.local regarding IP's? (Ive seen a script added to a few boxes by a certain provider that causes similar issues to what you are experiencing).

    Another question: When you add the IP's - what exactly do you enter within the IP form?

    Do you enter 123.123.123.123/29 or do you enter 123.123.123.124-128 ? (for example)
    What netmask do you set for those?
     
    #7 zentity, Aug 15, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2004
  8. Servax

    Servax Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am also having this problem...

    Here is the output for my IP addresses:

    Jun 1 23:46:42 protious named[2688]: loading configuration from '/etc/named.conf'
    Jun 1 23:46:42 protious named[2688]: no IPv6 interfaces found
    Jun 1 23:46:42 protious named[2688]: listening on IPv4 interface lo, 127.0.0.1#53
    Jun 1 23:46:42 protious named[2688]: listening on IPv4 interface eth1, 70.84.110.100#53
    Jun 1 23:46:42 protious named[2688]: listening on IPv4 interface eth1:0, 70.84.110.101#53
    Jun 1 23:46:42 protious named[2688]: listening on IPv4 interface eth1:1, 70.84.110.102#53
    Jun 1 23:46:42 protious named[2688]: listening on IPv4 interface eth1:2, 70.84.110.103#53
    Jun 1 23:46:42 protious named[2688]: listening on IPv4 interface eth1:3, 70.84.110.104#53
    Jun 1 23:46:42 protious named[2688]: listening on IPv4 interface eth1:4, 70.84.110.105#53
    Jun 1 23:46:43 protious named[2688]: command channel listening on 127.0.0.1#953

    It should of done the IPs 70.84.110.100 - 70.84.110.110 and I ran the command /etc/rc.d/init.d/ipaliases start and it also does not help.

    Thanks,
    Dennis Liang
     
Loading...

Share This Page