The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IPs not available after adding to IPaddrpool

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sleepy, Jun 24, 2002.

  1. sleepy

    sleepy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    We have added IPs that have been assigned to us through WHM. When going to 'show or delete current IP addresses' they don't appear in the list but do appear in 'Show/edit reseverd IPs'

    Under 'creating a new account' they are not listed for use.

    WHM seems to think the IPs are already in the pool, if we try to re-add them we get the following message:

    Skipping 209.124.xxx.xxx .. already added
    Please wait while I rebuild your ipaddrpool

    Any assistance welcome or even a little push in the right direction.

    Thanks
    Stuart
     
  2. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    use this

    in WHM -& IP Functions -& rebuild IP address pool
     
  3. sleepy

    sleepy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    We've tried re-building the pool several times as described but IPs are still are not available for new accounts or listed in 'show or delete current IPs'.

    message returned:

    Please wait while I rebuild your ipaddrpool
    [209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx][209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx][209.124.xxx.xxx]
    Found 0 free ips. /etc/ipaddrpool has been updated


    (16 IPs listed in 'show/edit reserved Ips')


    Stuart
     
  4. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:0318e0d985][i:0318e0d985]Originally posted by sleepy[/i:0318e0d985]

    Hi,

    We've tried re-building the pool several times as described but IPs are still are not available for new accounts or listed in 'show or delete current IPs'.

    message returned:

    Please wait while I rebuild your ipaddrpool
    [209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx][209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx][209.124.xxx.xxx]
    Found 0 free ips. /etc/ipaddrpool has been updated


    (16 IPs listed in 'show/edit reserved Ips')


    Stuart
    [/quote:0318e0d985]

    Does IP Functions-& IP Usage show your IPs?
     
  5. sleepy

    sleepy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    No- Ip usage does'nt show the IPs
     
  6. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:e813eadca6][i:e813eadca6]Originally posted by sleepy[/i:e813eadca6]

    Hi,

    We've tried re-building the pool several times as described but IPs are still are not available for new accounts or listed in 'show or delete current IPs'.

    message returned:

    Please wait while I rebuild your ipaddrpool
    [209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx][209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx] [209.51.xxx.xxx][209.124.xxx.xxx]
    Found 0 free ips. /etc/ipaddrpool has been updated


    (16 IPs listed in 'show/edit reserved Ips')


    Stuart
    [/quote:e813eadca6]

    hi stuart

    it seems that by mistake you reserved all the ip's you added to your server. just make sure about that .. if they are reserved then u might not be able to see them on the account create page

    Parag
     
  7. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can make sure by checking these two files:

    /etc/ips
    /etc/ipaddrpool

    /etc/ips contains all of your installed ips on your system (except main IP) and /etc/ipaddrpool contains your available ips, while you reserve IP it is removed from /etc/ipaddrpool
     
  8. sleepy

    sleepy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hello all,
    Thanks for helping-


    Just checked:

    /etc/ips
    Added IPs are listed (along with subnet mask) as being on the system.

    /etc/ipaddrpool
    Lists NO IPs or subnet masks (empty)

    Just to be sure I've double checked the reserved IP list, the IPs are not marked as reserved.

    /etc/ips has the last two lines listed differently from all the other lines in the file, format:

    209.124.xxx.1xx:225.225.225.240:209.124.xxx.2xx

    everything else is listed in this format:

    209.124.xxx.xxx:225.225.225.240



    Is this correct format for the last two lines??


    Stuart
     
  9. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:3594256fd5][i:3594256fd5]Originally posted by sleepy[/i:3594256fd5]

    hello all,
    Thanks for helping-


    Just checked:

    /etc/ips
    Added IPs are listed (along with subnet mask) as being on the system.

    /etc/ipaddrpool
    Lists NO IPs or subnet masks (empty)

    Just to be sure I've double checked the reserved IP list, the IPs are not marked as reserved.

    /etc/ips has the last two lines listed differently from all the other lines in the file, format:

    209.124.xxx.1xx:225.225.225.240:209.124.xxx.2xx

    everything else is listed in this format:

    209.124.xxx.xxx:225.225.225.240



    Is this correct format for the last two lines??


    Stuart

    [/quote:3594256fd5]
    The correct one is this 209.124.xxx.xxx:225.225.225.240 in each line. (IP:Netmask in each line)
    You can modify /etc/ipaddrpool manually or by &IP Functions -& rebuild IP address pool& if you want to make it manually put all of non used and non reserved IP descending in /etc/ipaddrpool
     
  10. sleepy

    sleepy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    edited:
    /etc/ips
    /etc/ipaddrpool

    Removed IPs from system.

    Tried adding the IPs again -error:
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: Cannot assign requested address


    Following further investigation found this thread:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=1414

    ----------------------------------------

    I'm currently submitting a support ticket to the data center about the IP s allocated to us, they are in use by someone else.

    Will post progress to bring thread to a conclusion when i know more...


    Thank You All who replied and assisted
     
  11. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Im curious if you got a resolution to this... im currently having the same problem.
     
  12. parhelic

    parhelic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We've had this same problem occur today, is this some sort of Cpanel bug??

    We had to remove /etc/ips and re-add them all.

    Pain in the ass :mad:
     
  13. parhelic

    parhelic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, this seems to happen anytime we restart network

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/network restart

    Something seems to be up with the init.d script
     
  14. Creazioni

    Creazioni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm carying!

    i delte all IP into WHM
    but i look ever IP into

    Show/Edit Reserved Ips

    WHY?:(

    i wanna delete all IP that i added

    THANKS
     
Loading...

Share This Page