The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WEB-PROS, Apr 1, 2006.

  1. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello i have cpanel running on two ips:
    81.171.98.120
    81.171.98.121

    I also have a apache2 running on port 8080, i was told by someone that i could setup the apache2 to run on 81.171.98.121:80

    I have configured apache1 to just lisen to 81.171.98.120 by editing httpd.conf to Listen 81.171.98.120 and i have also tried 81.171.98.120:80

    When ever i go to restart apache is fails, i have also tried the Bind in httpd.conf and that still stops apache starting. Does anyone know how i can do this?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    AFAIK cpanel doesn't support apache2 yet.
     
  3. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I know it does not support it thats why i have it running from a complete different setup, but i want the apache2 to listen to one of the ips, how can i stop apache 1 and whm from listen to both ips. I have tried what i said in my first post but just stops apache starting.
     
  4. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you check for multiple entries of Listen 80?
     
  5. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have check, when i go to add the Listen alue to listen to just one ip it fails to restart apache. All im doing is adding a Listen and then the ip.
     
  6. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How can i make apache 1 only use one ip , when ever i tell it to just use one ip it fails to start saying that port 80 on the ip is already used, i have run netstat and all and nothing is running on port 80 on that list.

    Please help, as i would like to get this running soon.
     
  7. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry Double Post
     
    #7 WEB-PROS, Apr 3, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2006
  8. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Since its failing on restart, please post the error message.
     
  9. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry, thanks everyone with many hours of worked i eventually managed to config the http.conf file right, apache 1 sure does like taking both ips.

    Well thanks for everyones help,if anyone ever wants to do this pm and i can help you

    Thanks:)
     
  10. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Could you post the process?
     
  11. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well it took me many tried bu this is the basic idea.

    1) In Apache 1 httpd.conf change the Listen 80 to Listen ip:80
    2) In Apache 1 httpd.conf change the BindAddress to BindAddress ip

    Ip being the ip you just want apache 1 to listen to, if you have mulitiple ips just add another Listen but do not add another BindAddress as thats only your main ip.

    Now Apache 2
    1) In Apache 2 httpd.conf change the Listen 80 to Listen ip:80

    ip bein the ip you want apache 2 to listen to

    Now start Apache 2 first and then Apache 1, after the first startup it seems it does not matter which way you start them but i had to start Apache 2 on first go..

    Last thing is when you restart Apache 1 in whm it also stops Apache 2 as it ends all Apaches but does not restart Apache 2 so you need to make some kind of script or log into ssh and start manualy.

    i hope this helps anyone who needs it, pm if you need any more help.


    Ashley
     
Loading...

Share This Page