The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IP's

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by darjohn, Sep 12, 2006.

  1. darjohn

    darjohn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can somebody help me knowing how many ip's I need to run domains in cPanel? related to dns functions too?
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. moogle

    moogle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What level of administration?

    If you just mean for DNS, you need 1 per nameserver with a minimum of 2 nameservers.
    If you're buying a reseller your hosting company may have it set up so you can use theirs and you don't need to buy your own IPs.

    If you're the main server administrator.. you should know .. so I'm assuming your not.
     
  3. darjohn

    darjohn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi there! Thanks for your help.

    I'am main server administrator. In this case: the server come with 1 exclusive. Can I use these ip as ns1.xxxx.com?
     
  4. moogle

    moogle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Your datacenter should be able to help you with these questions.
    As long as they don't actually have to do anything, they're usually helpful. (i hope)

    If they really only gave you on useable IP, the shared IP, then you can set up both nameservers on that one IP. It's just not recommended.
     
  5. moogle

    moogle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Only 1 IP address?
    You really need 2 IPs, the nameservers on a server shouldn't have the same IP and there should be a minimum of 2 nameservers. You can use the server's shared IP for one nameserver and then an additional for the second, if you're limited.

    Do you have this box with a datacenter? Or.. at home?
     
  6. darjohn

    darjohn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    many thanks for your response.

    I have a server in a datacenter
     
  7. darjohn

    darjohn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In these cases, when cPanel was installed in the server, it has been configured the DNS server (BIND) ? or I must to install it?
     
Loading...

Share This Page