The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

iptables and APF

Discussion in 'Security' started by BassTeQ, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,

    I've got a strange problem, im using APF and I've configured a list of ports to be opened in the APF config file. I then restart apf.

    When I do an "iptables -L" and grep for the ports, 2 of them don't appear and am not sure why, they are ports 8911 and 8900.

    BUT if I run a netstat and look for these ports I can see I have a client connected.

    Any ideas why this wold occur?

    Thanks
     
  2. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone ?? I'd love to find a solution/reason.
     
  3. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Don't worry I've worked it out.
     
  4. Freezer

    Freezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Den Haag
    Care to share?
     
  5. BassTeQ

    BassTeQ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was just using iptables -L, and those port numbers existed in /etc/services so they were being listed as their names. Using iptables -L -n fixed my problem :P

    Cheers
     
Loading...

Share This Page