The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Iptables problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nagak, Dec 28, 2007.

  1. nagak

    nagak Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Guyz,

    When I am trying to restart apf, I am getting the below error.
    -------
    root@server447 [~]# /etc/init.d/apf restart
    Stopping APF: [ OK ]
    Starting APF:iptables: Resource temporarily unavailable
    iptables: Invalid argument
    iptables: Invalid argument
    iptables: Resource temporarily unavailable
    iptables: Invalid argument
    iptables: Resource temporarily unavailable
    iptables: Resource temporarily unavailable
    iptables: Resource temporarily unavailable
    iptables: Resource temporarily unavailable
    iptables: Resource temporarily unavailable
    iptables: Resource temporarily unavailable
    iptables: Resource temporarily unavailable

    Can you guys help me on this case.

    Thank you.
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    looks like not all the ipables modules are loaded into you kernel

    ls /lib/modules/<your_kernel_ver>/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter

    replacing <your_kernel_ver> with the kernel you are running

    you need all of these


    ip_tables
    iptable_filter
    iptable_mangle
    ip_conntrack
    ip_conntrack_irc
    ip_conntrack_ftp
    ipt_state
    ipt_multiport
    ipt_limit
    ipt_recent
    ipt_LOG
    ipt_REJECT
    ipt_ecn
    ipt_length
    ipt_mac
    ipt_multiport
    ipt_owner
    ipt_state
    ipt_ttl
    ipt_TOS
    ipt_TCPMSS
    ipt_ULOG
     
  3. nagak

    nagak Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Thanks for info.

    let me try first, will get back to u.
     
  4. nagak

    nagak Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have checked kernel version and modules which you have mentioned, but still I'm facing same issue.

    I really appreciating your help.

    Thank you.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    A bit more information would help:

    1. Is this is a real server or a VPS?
    2. What's the OS and version?
    3. What's the kernel version?

    If it's a real server running an OS vendor kernel, then the iptables LKM's can have problems sometimes (particularly on some older kernels). A reboot usually clears this.
     
  6. nagak

    nagak Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    1. Is this is a real server or a VPS?
    >> Its a shared hosting server

    2. What's the OS and version?
    >>CentOS release 4.6 (Final)

    3. What's the kernel version?
    >>2.6.9-67.0.1.ELsmp

    Thank you.
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There are only two types of servers cPanel/WHM operates on: Dedicated and VPS. Both can be used for shared hosting. I believe the one who posed this inquiry wanted to know if you were on a Dedicated Server or a VPS.

    One thing you could do to answer this question is login to WHM and copy/paste the version information of your WHM here as that will answer the question:

    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.16.0-B19167
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.5 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    When it says "on standard," that means I'm on a dedicated server. If I was on a VPS server, it would say something like "on Virtuozzo" or something to that effect.
     
  8. nagak

    nagak Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    Sorry, Its a dedicated server.

    Thank you
     
Loading...

Share This Page