The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

iptables: Table does not exist (do you need to insmod?)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Networkologist, Apr 5, 2003.

  1. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I installed KISS My Firewall and am now receiving the above emails. Anyway to stop this.

    These messages are/were sent in the past week or so when I was experimenting with other firewalls as well.

    TIA
     
  2. torwill

    torwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try " /etc/init.d/bandmin stop", then "/etc/init.d/bandmin start".
     
  3. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks torwill.

    Issued the stop/start in /usr/local. Will wait and see (hope) that took care of it.

    It errored out in /etc/init.d/bandmin

    root@secure [~]# /etc/init.d/bandmin stop
    Shutting down bandmin: /etc/init.d/bandmin: /usr/local/bandmin/bandminstop: No such file or directory
    [ OK ]
    root@secure [~]# /etc/init.d/bandmin start
    Starting bandmin: iptables v1.2.5: Couldn't load target `acctboth':/lib/iptables/libipt_acctboth.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

    Try `iptables -h' or 'iptables --help' for more information.
    iptables v1.2.5: Couldn't load target `acctboth':/lib/iptables/libipt_acctboth.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

    Try `iptables -h' or 'iptables --help' for more information.
    [ OK
     
  4. Sash

    Sash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Have you tried reinstalling iptables via WHM? We had the same problem after a kernel upgrade. Uninstalling iptables and then installing it again fixed the problem.

    Mike
     
  5. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    <thud>

    Won't that break the firewall? Guess I could stop it, re-install ip tables and restart.

    I'll give it a while till I resort to re-installing IPTables.

    newbie here ya know ;)


    //edit

    Just noticed I'm a "Senior Member" :eek: They need to review how they qualify. Any way, I kinda am a senior, sort of
     
  6. torwill

    torwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i might be wrong, but i guess bandmin uses iptables and ruleset to monitor bandwidth.

    i had a server with no firewall or whatsoever on it. but when i issued "iptables -L -n". a ruleset was already there. i flushed it and then restart bandmin, the ruleset come back. then when you start the firewall (all firewall (any not flush first?) script flush clean then add rules), bandmin ruleset is missing. hence the error messages.

    again, i might be wrong. but restart bandmin works for me.
     
  7. Sash

    Sash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So a question arises........Can bandmin and a firewall function together?

    Mike
     
  8. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    They seem to. The stop and restart fixed that problem. Haven't gotten an e-mail since.

    Now to see if it is affecting bandwidth stats...
     
Loading...

Share This Page