The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IPv6 - can't get rDNS to work!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Nick57, Jan 8, 2014.

  1. Nick57

    Nick57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dear cPanel,

    I have followed your instructions exactly in creating this rDNS for a few IPv6 addresses, but it is not working for me.

    There is a new zone file, called ipv6.arpa
    This zone file is loaded on all my four cPanel DNSonly servers.
    This zone file is more then four days old and really should be propagated on the Internet by now.
    I have for privacy reasons masked the last nibbles.

    IPv6 works on the server.

    dig -x 2002::xxxx:xxxx @localhost +short
    output: domain name.

    ping6 domain
    output: as expected.

    ping::1
    output as expected.
    Any suggestions what could be wrong?

    run: /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/configure_rh_ipv6_firewall_for_cpanel

    Using CSF as firewall.

    Attached Image with content of the zone file.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 Nick57, Jan 8, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2014
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It's important to keep in mind that native support for RDNS with IPv6 is not yet included with cPanel. You can open a feature request for this via:

    Submit A Feature Request

    In the meantime, you can manually create the zone via the command line using the following as a template:
    Code:
    ;
    ; 2001:db8::/48
    ;
    $TTL 1h	; Default TTL
    @	IN	SOA	ns1.example.com.	admin.example.com. (
    	2014010801	; serial
    	1h		; slave refresh interval
    	15m		; slave retry interval
    	1w		; slave copy expire time
    	1h		; NXDOMAIN cache time
    	)
    
    ;
    ; domain name servers
    ;
    @	IN	NS	ns1.example.com.
    
    
    ; IPv6 PTR entries
    1.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.8.b.d.0.1.0.0.2.ip6.arpa.    IN    PTR    host1.example.com.
    Note that you can generate a zone using a zone generator such as RDNS IPv6 Zone Generator if necessary.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Nick57

    Nick57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, I assume this means that your documentation which i followed by the letter is useless?

    Perhaps you should adjust this document then: Configure Reverse DNS in WHM

    Do you have any instructions in how to generate this manual?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There are no references to IPv6 on the document you referenced. There were in the past, but those references were removed about a month ago per internal case 79061. You may want to try clearing your browser cache if you still see references to IPv6 on that document.

    You can simply create a zone using the template from my last response in the /var/named directory, ensure ownership and permissions match the other zone files (0600 permissions and "Named" ownership) and then rebuild the /etc/named.conf file after that via:

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuilddnsconfig
    The zone file name would be 1.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.8.b.d.0.1.0.0.2.ip6.arpa.db in the example posted in my last response.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Nick57

    Nick57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry, but I don't think this is a caching situation, I refreshed my browser and tried from different IP.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for pointing that out. In the past, there was an entire section on that document devoted to IPv6. It has since been removed because it's not supported at this time.

    Were you able to create the record successfully using the manual instructions provided on this thread?

    Thank you.
     
  7. Nick57

    Nick57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, yes able to create the zone file, but working, no, this is really frustrating, cPanel is so far behind the facts, many customers want IPv6.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can review the entries you created and determine why they are not working? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page