The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IPv6 Help

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Yourstyle, Jun 26, 2015.

  1. Yourstyle

    Yourstyle Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I am not very experienced with webservers but on of our customers wanted a VPS with WHM. I managed to get it running , but now he has the problem that his customers want to connect through IPv6. I tried to run through the documentation but it still doesn't work. I enabled IPv6 for the user, added an IPv6 Range (IPv6 ip is: - Removed -). But I have no idea if this is right. Is the IPv6 automaticaly added to the VirtualHost derectives and the DNS zone files? The hosting compagny can't help us. We don't have a IPv6 address so it is hard to test. The domain is: - Removed - . I hope you can help me.
     
    #1 Yourstyle, Jun 26, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 26, 2015
  2. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The IPv6 address must be assigned and set up on your server.

    You then need to make sure you have AAAA records for the IPv6 address in DNS.
     
  3. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Home »IP Functions »IPv6 Ranges
    first add your ip ranges form the assigned block you have provisioned (How many IPV6 address you want to assign to each user)
    IE: IPV6IP/128 single IP
    IE: IPV6IP/126 64 IP's
    etc
    etc

    Then
    Home »IP Functions »Enable IPv6
    than add the ranges to your individual users.
    It will add the AAA & virtual host records automatically

    Warning: make sure you have the reverse DNS delegated to you or your provider has a way to set this
    because exim will default to ipv6 when its available unless you disable it
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Are you sure that your web hosting provider has provisioned an IPv6 range for your server?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page