Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IPv6 stops working after reboot

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by janipewter, Apr 15, 2018.

Tags:
  1. janipewter

    janipewter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have IPv6 correctly set up and working on my server. You can verify this by having a look at one of my sites: - Removed -

    Obviously you need to have IPv6 in order to reach the site over IPv6. This domain should resolve to - Removed -

    Now the problem is that when I restart the server, none of my sites are reachable over IPv6. If I try to ping their IPv6 addresses, it just times out. This is a huge problem because I have some critical email accounts on my server which I import to Gmail, and by default Gmail will connect over IPv6 if it is available at the remote server, WHICH IT IS, but not working.

    This week I missed some important emails after I rebooted the server 3 days ago for a kernel upgrade and forgot about the IPv6 not working.

    Now in order to fix it, in WHM I go to Assign IPv6 Address, and then just disable and re-enable all of the sites. Then everything works perfectly as before.

    I can replicate this bug 100% of the time. Simply enable IPv6 on any account and reboot the server. DNS will still resolve the IPv6 address, but it won't respond to ping or anything else. Which is really annoying because it breaks a lot of stuff.
     
    #1 janipewter, Apr 15, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 15, 2018
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,782
    Likes Received:
    1,712
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @janipewter,

    Can you run the following commands on this system and let us know the output?

    Code:
    grep ONBOOT /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/*
    grep NM_CONTROLLED /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/*
    The output shouldn't show any identifying server information, but ensure to replace the output with examples before posting it here if it does.

    Thank you.
     
  3. janipewter

    janipewter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here you go:

     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42,782
    Likes Received:
    1,712
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you open a support ticket so we can take a closer look at the IPv6 configuration and rule out any issues caused by the cPanel & WHM software?

    Submit A Support Ticket

    Please feel free to post the ticket number here and we will update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  5. janipewter

    janipewter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, support ticket opened.

    Your Support Request ID is: 9443101
     
Loading...

Share This Page