Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

IPv6 Unresponsive NS

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Daniel Fallas, Jan 9, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Daniel Fallas

    Daniel Fallas Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello!

    I’m not normally one to ask for help as I normally figure it out myself, unfortunately having never bothered with IPv6 or have any experience in it, I’m a little stuck.

    I have been given /64 6 from my provider, they are active and I have added the range to my server, accounts all have been given a dedicated /128 and do work, if you went to the website address it works, AAAA have been added, etc.

    My issue is when I run a health check on a third party website for my IPv6, it comes back it finds the name servers, but the name servers are non-responsive.

    - Removed -

    Any help or advice is highly appreciated.
     
    #1 Daniel Fallas, Jan 9, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2019
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,503
    Likes Received:
    2,179
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Daniel Fallas,

    Here's a response from one of our Technical Analysts to a similar question in a support ticket:

    Can you let me know if this information helps?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Daniel Fallas likes this.
  3. Daniel Fallas

    Daniel Fallas Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Michael, I've looked at the documentation provided but I don't believe this isn't what I'm looking for.

    On a health check (example domain abc.com)

    abc.com
    • 4/4 Nameservers have IPv6 addresses (pass)
    • 4/4 IPv6 Nameservers failed to respond (fail)
    • Webservers has IPv6 records but only available on IPv4 nameservers (warning)
    • IPv6 AAAA found for bare domain (abc.com, pass)
    • IPv6 Webserver responded (pass)
    • Secure Connection for IPv6 (pass)
    • SMTP IPv6 failed to connect to SMTP server (fail)
    • rDNS for IPv6 Mail Server (warning) Does not have rDNS
    • IPv6 Glue (fail)

    - Removed Please Attach Images to Your Posts -
     
    #3 Daniel Fallas, Jan 9, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2019
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,503
    Likes Received:
    2,179
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Daniel Fallas,

    Can you open a support ticket so we can take a closer look at how your system is configured and verify if any obvious issues are present? You can post the ticket number here once it's open and I'll link this thread to it.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Daniel Fallas

    Daniel Fallas Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Michael.
    11187623
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,503
    Likes Received:
    2,179
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi @Daniel Fallas,

    Can you update us with the outcome once you've confirmed the recommended solution addresses the issue?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Daniel Fallas

    Daniel Fallas Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Regarding the nameservers not responding this has been fixed after a session with cPanel support.

    The issue was the server wasn’t using the IPv6 addresses as I was using x:x:x:x::a-d rather than x:x:x:x::1-4 which was already assigned to an account, therefore actively required by the server and a-d wasn’t, I could of gone the advanced way and done everything via terminal but to be safe I did it the recommended way which was to change my IPv6 addresses on my 4 nameservers to 1-4 instead of a-d.

    I’m yet to resolve my mailserver IPv6 issue and still waiting for my domain provider to update my AAAA records for .com, unfortunately their website isn’t working to manually do it myself.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice