The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is attempting to hack in to my CPanel illegal?

Discussion in 'Security' started by mekajinn, Aug 15, 2013.

1. mekajinn

mekajinn Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi,

Newbie here... I have an ongoing issue that appears to be reaching a head.

Basically I have a problem ex client who has attempted to hack in to my main CPanel. I know it was someone from their office because I have friends there who are still clients, and so they want to check up on their own sites at work from time to time.

I became concerned today after being told that they couldn't access their own site... this is hosted on the same package and IP as 'problem client'.

I investigated and found that IP of the office concerned was blocked on my server due to multiple incorrect login attempts from that location. At the same time, once that blacklist started, I have discovered that the 'problem client' has been telling all concerned that I took down his site.

Obviously I didn't, and the people in the office couldn't see it simply because he'd deliberately tried to hack my CPanel.

WHat I want to know is... is this an offence? This is a person deliberately trying to sabotage my business... surely there is something I can do??

Thanks anyone who can help... this is totally frying my brain now. :(

2. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

I recommend obtaining legal advice from a qualified professional. This forum is primarily intended for matters related to the cPanel/WHM software itself.

Thank you.

3. quizknows

quizknows Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider